Skip to content

EndNote: Adding references to your library - importing references

This software package for managing references (citations) is available free to Monash University students and staff. This guide has information about working with EndNote in the Monash University environment.

The Collect tab - Import references

Import references

The following databases allow direct export into EndNote Online as a choice in their output options.

  • Web of Science
  • EBSCO databases, such as CINAHL, Business Source Complete and Econlit  
  • Search (Monash)

However, most databases do not provide direct export into EndNote Online. Importing references involves saving records from the database as a file and importing this file into your EndNote Online library.

General instructions:

 In the database you are searching

1. Mark desired records
2. Look for a Save or Export option in the database
3. If given options, choose full records and EndNote format. (The table below indicates the format options and file types of selected databases)

Database Provider       

Format option              Downloaded File type

Proquest     

OVID

Informit

RIS   

EndNote

EndNote Direct

.ris

.cgi

.ris

 

4. Save the file. This usually goes into the Downloads folder on your computer. (If not, save to a location you can easily find).

When the file is imported into EndNote Online you will need to choose a filter to allow the import to occur. This filter applies to the database you used or the file type downloaded. There are hundreds of database filters provided in EndNote Online. Consider creating a favourites list of those filters or databases you commonly use. To do this click Select Favourites.

import references  

View selected references

Once the records are saved in a file go to EndNote Online and import them.

  1. Click the Collect tab
  2. Click the Import references link
  3. Click Browse (next toFile) to locate the downloaded file 
  4. Choose the import database filter from the Import option drop down menu
  5. Choose the desired group*  (in your EndNote library) from the To drop down menu
  6. Click Import

* See the 'Organising and sharing your references' tab in this guide for how to set up groups.

 

The Collect tab - Capture toolbar

Browser Capture Button

A capture button can be added to your browser toolbar (Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer)

To do this you must be logged in to EndNote Online. Go to the 'Options' tab and select the 'Download installers' option.

Follow the instructions, and simply drag the button onto your browser's toolbar.

The toolbar button will collect one reference at a time.

  1. Display the reference
  2. Click on the Capture icon in your browser toolbar
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the new record window and select the group you wish to save the reference to.
  4. Click Save at the top of the record window

Note: when using the Capture icon be aware that the imported data may need to be edited or added to depending of the level of detail imported.

EndNote online extension for Firefox.

This is an additional toolbar that can be added to the Firefox browser. Install the add-in from the Download installers link inside the Options tab when you are logged into Endnote Online and choose the appropriate system (Windows or Mac). If the icons do not appear in your browser toolbar go to:
View > Toolbars > EndNote Online toolbar

          Capture tool bar