Skip to content

Engineering: Journal articles

This guide provides a selection of resources for research in Engineering and is intended primarily for undergraduates in Engineering.

Finding journal articles

Academic journals report the ongoing research and debate in an academic discipline.

Using journal databases you can simultaneously search large collections of journals to find articles relevant to a particular topic.

Journals may also be referred to as serials or periodicals. These terms also include newspapers and magazines.

What are peer reviewed journals?

Peer reviewed (or refereed) journals contain journal articles that have been reviewed by experts in the field before being published.

To check if a specific journal is peer reviewed, you could use Ulrichsweb.com.

Key engineering databases

Databases provide access to the contents of journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, theses, and others information sources. Most databases provide links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. Content not available in full text on line may be held in the library in hard copy.

Tip: Set up Check for full text links in Google Scholar.

Check Search to find out if we have online or print access to specific articles.

Full-text journal collections

Full-text journal collections allow keyword searching of articles, abstracts, subject headings/descriptors, and access to  the full-text of articles.

Journals held by Monash University Library

A large collection of journals is available online and in print. Check Search or the e journals list.