Engineering: ENG1060/MCD4140 Library Session Week 6

This guide provides a selection of resources for research in Engineering and is intended primarily for undergraduates in Engineering.

ENG1060 - Module 1: Activity 1

MODULE 1
Learning Aims:

Understand your reading list and identify what sorts of publications are listed
Locate listed items in Search
Understand what information Search contains and how to interpret the records for availability

Activity 1: discussion

  • identify key clues relating to different publication types

The following guide may help you with this activity. Depicts four different publication types, with the elements shown.

ENG1060 - Module 1: Activity 2

MODULE 1
Learning Aims:

Understand your reading list and identify what sorts of publications are listed
Locate listed items in Search
Understand what information Search contains and how to interpret the records for availability

Activity 2: Understanding Your Reading List guide me (online captivate tutorial)

This Guide Me tutorial will help you establish the different elements of a publication, and how to recognise the different publication types.

A note about using this exercise.

  • This exercise is NOT graded
  • The answers will be revealed at the end of the activity,
    using the review answers button:
  • Do not use the back button. Unfortunately the software is unstable, and is designed for you to note your answers with your initial impressions rather than revisiting it, or spending considerable time. Ideally take no more than a minute for each screen
  • In this exercise you will need to find various elements eg more than one title, editors etc
  • Once you have identified the various elements in the citation, you then need to identify what kind of resource it is.
  • Have a go, but don’t try to get everything right, because we will have time to investigate it more fully later.
  • Regardless of whether you get the questions right or not, you need to answer ALL the questions before you can review the answers.
  • At the end choose the review option. You will be able to see where you went wrong.

ENG1060 - Module 1: Activity 3

MODULE 1
Learning Aims:

Understand your reading list and identify what sorts of publications are listed
Locate listed items in Search
Understand what information Search contains and how to interpret the records for availability

Activity 3: Find Items in Search guide me (online captivate tutorial)

This Guide Me tutorial demonstrates how to find in Search the three different publication types that we encountered in tutorial Understanding Your Reading List guide me


Your feedback here: Please take a few minutes and tell us how you feel about the effectiveness of this tutorial and your preferences for the technology used to convey the information. Thank-you

ENG1060 - Module 1: Activity 3 Alternative

MODULE 1
Learning Aims:

Understand your reading list and identify what sorts of publications are listed
Locate listed items in Search
Understand what information Search contains and how to interpret the records for availability

Activity 3: (Alternative - part 2 only) Find Items in Search guide me (online captivate tutorial)

This Guide Me tutorial demonstrates how to find in Search the three different publication types that we encountered in tutorial Understanding Your Reading List guide me

  • Part 1 contains narrated introductory section of "Find Items in Search guide me" (Vodcast presented in the library session.)
  • Part 2 contains the rest of the online tutorial "Find Items in Search guide me" which contains the interactive searching sequences

Your feedback here: Please take a few minutes and tell us how you feel about the effectiveness of this tutorial and your preferences for the technology used to convey the information.

ENG1060: Module 2 : Activity 4

MODULE 2
Learning Aims:

Understand the purpose, scope and appropriateness of a variety of information sources in the field of engineering

Activity 4: Information Sources for Different Scenarios (pdf) document

Choose different information sources for different scenarios
Looks at seven different information sources and when you might use them.

ENG1060 - Module 2 - Activity 4 Alternative

MODULE 2
Learning Aims:

Understand the purpose, scope and appropriateness of a variety of information sources in the field of engineering

Activity 4 (alternative): Information Scenario: Mix n Match

Choose different information sources for different scenarios
Looks at seven different information sources and when you might use them.

Discussion - How do sources get published?

How do sources get published?
Who checks the information before they get published?

What is the process to get an article published on Wikipedia?

Who checks the article or book chapter before it gets published?

2005, "Wiki's wild world - Researchers should read Wikipedia cautiously and amend it enthusiastically", Nature, vol. 438, no. 7070, pp. 890.

ENG1060 - Module 3 : Activity 5

MODULE 3
Learning Aims:

Distinguish between authoritative publications for engineers and general audience publications

Activity 5: Assess authority and quality of publications (compare a magazine and a journal article) (pdf)

Comparing clues for a popular magazine and a scholarly magazine

ENG1060 - Module 4: Activity 6

MODULE 4
Learning Aims:

Search the engineering database (Compendex) and find the full text of articles where available
Discover some of the advantages of using Compendex and when to use Search

Activity 6: Compendex guide me (online captivate tutorial)

Demonstrates key search features of the core engineering database Compendex. 

Simulates how to check for availability of full-text journal articles.

Questions 1-6 Understand your reading list - guide

Contents

ENG1060 activities

vodcast + online interactive tutorial (part 2 only)
Please use this link if your librarian has instructed you to do so.

Please use this link if your librarian has instructed you to do so.

ENG1060 Library session

Seagull: Hey Maaate!
I'm really hungry for some microfish an' someone told me I could get some at the library?

Pigeon: Nah Buddy, I think you mean microfiche! We now have e-books and e-journals in pdf and html

Seagull: Huh?

Pigeon: If you come along to the library session they'll tell you all about it.

Seagull: Cool! Will they have some chips too?

Search - What does it Search?

To view this image shown above, open the pdf document below.