Skip to content

European Studies: Browsing books, e-books

This guide supports learning at the Monash European and EU Centre

E-books

A number of electronic books relevant to European studies are available. 

 

A list of titles on the European Union is browsable, other relevant titles can also be found using Library SEARCH.

 

Examples of titles include:

Market integration and public services in the European Union

Call numbers

Subject Call number
EU Economics 337.142
European Union (EU) 341.242 2
EU Law of Nations 341.242 2
EU Public Administration    352.114
EU Commerce 382.914
European Romanticism 809.9145
English Romanticism 829.0907
20th Century Europe 909.8
European History 940

Search

Use 'Search' to find a broad range of material including books, articles, journals, databases, dvds and more.

Catalogue

Search
          

  Advanced search | Sign in | A-Z ejournals | A-Z databases

How to decipher shelf numbers

Finding books on a topic by browsing call numbers

 

The Monash libraries use the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme to organise books and journals. We call these numbers 'call or shelf' numbers. The most efficient way to locate material in the Library is to use the Library's Search and limit the result to books or journals. You may want to browse in the print collection at these numbers to find material that is brought together on a topic.

You can browse online as well. Find some relevant books using a keyword search, look for the most common call number attached to the books and put the call number in the Library's Search.

Use a call number to find an item on the shelf

It is important that you note down all of the call number, and which part of the Monash collection the item is held in. Then you need to find each part of the number in turn.

For example to find the book: The European Union : politics and policies, John McCormick, call number 341.2422 M131E 2008:

 

341.2422 M131E 2008

 

1. Locate the first three digits.
2. Locate any digits following the decimal point (Note decimals: 341.1 is after 341.05).
3. Look for the letter M, then the next set of numbers/letter.
4. The final four digits denote the year of the book.

Some common problems in looking for items

If you can't find an item:

  • make sure you have written down the whole number.
  • make sure that you have located the entire number, including all the digits after the decimal point.
  • check that you are looking in the correct site or collection eg Caulfield, Berwick, Law, serials etc.
  • look for prefix letters before the number (eg F = folio (large books), Mos = maths, NZ=New Zealand etc).
  • note that some collections (eg Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS), Microfiche) have their own numbering system.
  • check that the item is not already on loan to someone else.

Tips for Finding Library Resources via Search

Type one or more terms, click Go, and then limit result set using the facets in the left panel.

  • All Resources: includes past exams, ARROW, individual journal articles plus 'Library Collections'.
  • Library Collections: physical resources in the libraries plus electronic books, journals, and digitised readings.

Search looks for all the search terms unless OR or NOT (Boolean Operators) are placed between terms.

  • Boolean Operators must be capitalised otherwise they are treated as search terms.
  • Use NOT to exclude unwanted terms e.g. fish  NOT chips.
  • Enclose phrases in quotation marks e.g. "global warming".
  • Use parentheses to group terms e.g. cosmology (Aztec OR Egyptian).

Wildcard characters permit variant endings and spellings to be searched.

  • Use a question mark ? for a single character wildcard search e.g. type wom?for records that contain the strings woman or women.
  • Use an asterisk * for multiple character wildcard search e.g. type cultur* for records that contain strings e.g. culture, cultural, and culturally.

Search indexes not only the library collections of books, eBooks, theses, periodicals, and audio-visual materials, but also a limited number of full-text electronic journal databases.

In order to access the complete range of electronic journals to which Monash University Library subscribes, it is neccessary to search in subject-specific databases.