Geography: ATS1309

A guide to resources for the study of geography and environmental sciences

Quicklinks

Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Before you start searching, make sure that you understand the terms and concepts in your essay topic.

Australian population statistics

Go to Australian Bureau of Statistics

Use the link for Australia's population (on the left)

Finding relevant newspaper articles

Newspaper articles can be a good source of information on recent events, policies, developments and their impact on the local populations, public perceptions and responses. BUT beware of placing to much emphasis on newspaper information.

Help with finding journals

About this guide

ATS1309: The Global challenge

The information in this guide is designed to get you started with your essays. The readings you already have, and their bibliographies, will provide clues for the sorts of further materials you should look at.

Use the information located under Writing, citing and research to help with writing and citing your essays.
Effective database searching and using Using Google Scholar will help you find relevant information effectively.

Searching the catalogue

Go to Search

Enter keywords that best describe what you are looking for.

For example search for :

  • urban development (to search as a phrase use "inverted commas")
  • urbanisation OR urbanization (note different spelling)

You can also add a second phrase or word to make your search more specific

  • water AND "urban development"
  • geography AND consumption
  • water urban development AND Melbourne

TIPS! There may be different ways of spelling or referring to the same type of events eg. urbanisation, urbanization or urban development. Check dictionaries or encyclopedias relevant to geography and environmental sciences for terms and concepts.

When you find some titles that interest you, note down the entire call number as well as the location. Books may be located in with the Matheson Library or the Hargrave-Andrew Library.

You can also use this technique when searching the online journals and the databases.

If you get stuck try the catalogue online help or ask at the Information point at the library

Selected databases

Databases are used to search the contents of journals, books, reports and conference proceedings at the same time. The databases link to full text articles in journals with a Monash Library subscription. NOTE: the library may not necessaily have a subscription to every journal reference you may find.

Help with searching the databases

How to search Business Source Complete online tutorial (pdf version)