Skip to content

Government Publications: United Kingdom

A brief guide to locating federal and state government publication for Australia, and selected other countries.

Government/Agency Publications

Finding Government Publications

Use the Copac academic and national library catalogue 'main search' add 'stationery' to retrieve Stationery office publications.

Government Homepage

GOV.UK
Government homepage provides access to government information by broad subject. It includes an A-Z listing of Government departments / agencies under 'Directories'. Look for the 'Law, archives and information' link under Rights and Responsibilities for links to unconsolidated Acts, Bills, Parliamentary proceedings, Command Papers (White and Green Papers), Official publications, Government press releases, Official statistics and national archives.

Information Asset Register
inforoute provides direct access to the Information Asset Register (IAR). The IAR lists information resources held by the UK Government, concentrating on unpublished resources. In doing so it enables users to identify, from one single source, the information held in a wide variety of departments, agencies and other organisations.
IAR aims to cover the vast quantities of information held by all government departments and agencies. This includes databases, old sets of files, recent electronic files, collections of statistics, research etc. The IAR concentrates on information resources that have not yet been, or will not be formally published.

Parliamentary Debates

Parliament Debates Online access

 Hansard 1803–2005

Also available using a different search interface via

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers -includes Hansard (Debates) 
HCPP now includes the full text from Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament, from both the House of Commons and House of Lords, from 1803 to 2005. The publicly available XML files created by the Hansard Digitisation Project (led by the Directorate of Information Services of the House of Commons and the Library of the House of Lords) are the source for this material

Parliamentary Debates- Print format

For the period 1066-1803 there was no official record of Parliament. The most comprehensive collections of newsletters, newspages, pamphlets on debates, memoirs and diaries is Cobbett's Parliamentary History. For detailed information about British Parliamentary debates see Frank Rogers (1980), A Guide to British Government Publications.

Early debates are given in seperate publications.

Cobbett, William (1763-1835) Cobbett's Parliamentary History of England, From the Norman Conquest in 1066 to the year 1803
London: Published by R. Bagshaw, 1806-1820 (London: Printed by T.C. Hansard)

A Collection of the Parliamentary Debates in England: from the Year MDCLXVII [1668] to the Present Time (1737-1749)
London: Dublin: Reprinted and sold by John Torbuck

The Parliamentary Debates, 2nd Series (1820-1829)

 Barrow, John (ed.) The Mirror of Parliament for the ... session of the ... Parliament of Great Britain and Ireland
London: Longman, Orme, Brown, Green & Longmans, 29 Jan. (1828) to 7 Oct. (1841); incomplete [Rare Books Collection]
London: Hansard

Debates, 3rd Series (1829-1891)
London: Hansard

Parliamentary Debates, 4th Series (1892-1908)
London: Hansard

British Government publications containing statistics

Annual report of the Registrar-General for England and Wales, 1839-1920
London: H.M.S.O [Online Access via Trove]

The Registrar-General's statistical review of England and Wales, 1921-1968
London: H.M.S.O.
In off-site store. Available by Document delivery request (for eligible users)

Parliamentary Publications

Parliamentary Papers

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
The House of Commons Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. Between 1801 and 2000, around 9.5 million pages for over 184,000 parliamentary papers were published. Since 2001, the number of papers has grown by approximately 4,000 for each parliamentary session. HCPP delivers searchable full text for each paper, along with a detailed index. HCPP currently contains an index for 1801-2004, full text for the entire 19th century, and for 1901-1945

You have access to the following collections:

19th century (1801-1900)
20th century (1901-2003/04 session)
Hansard (1803-2005)

18th Century Sessional Papers

If you  live in Australia you are eligible for membership of the National Library . When you have joined and signed in you can access  sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688 from the eResources link on the National Library website. House Of Commons Parliamentary Papers

 

Current Command and departmentally sponsored House of Commons Papers
Official Documents is the official reference facility for Command and departmentally sponsored House of Commons Papers. From May 2005 onwards, all Command Papers and House of Commons Papers, as well as Key Departmental Papers, are available for free on the site in PDF format.

Publications

UK Parliament - Publications
Provides downloadable versions of current and past publications of both Houses, including those of select committees. Also links to the Parliamentary Archives where the historic records of Parliament are stored and made available to the public.

 

  • BOPCRIS
    (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service)
     
  • EPPI
    (Enhanced British Parliamentary Papers on Ireland) 1801-1922. Electronic cataloguing and full text digitisation of some 13,700 British Parliamentary papers (containing around 600,000 pages) from the University of Southampton's Ford Collection of Official Publications
     
  • JUSTIS
    Full-text case law and statutes, including UK Statutes, International Law Reports, British Tax Cases, and Singapore Law Reports.
     
  • Legislation
    Includes unconsolidated UK Acts: 1988-current and UK Statutory Instruments (SIs): 1987-current. [For consolidated versions of legislation, see Westlaw or Lexis.com]
     
  • News Distribution Services
    Comprehensive listing of news releases searchable by government agency, keyword and minister

 

Great Britain Parliament House of Commons Cabinet

Cabinet Reports by Prime Minister of the Crown, 1868-1916
Hassocks, Sussex: Harvester Press
Reproduction of the manuscript letters from Prime Ministers to the Sovereign reporting on proceedings of Cabinet meetings, in the Royal Archives at Windsor Castle

Other Information

Politics

Cabinet Office
Coordinates policy and operations across government.

10 Downing Street
Official Website of the Prime Minister's Office.

News from the Prime Minister's Office

Monarchy

Official Website of the British Monarchy