Skip to content

Government Publications: Victoria

A brief guide to locating federal and state government publication for Australia, and selected other countries.

Victorian Government RSS Feed

Loading

Victorian Government Twitter Feed

Government Department/Agency publications

Government Publications

Current

Trove-  Victorian Government Publications  Australian holdings

Historical

Trove-  Victorian Government Publications  Australian holdings

Past  Victorian Government publications (Monash holdings)

Directories

current

Directory of Government Departments and Services

Historical

Victorian Government Directory (1980 - 2010)

Directory of Government Departments and Authorities (1971 - 1979)

Budget

Current

Budget papers

Historical

Past budget papers (1998 - present)

Victorian Budget papers (Monash holdings)

Gazettes

Current

Gazettes

Historical

Victoria government gazette, (1851- ), Government Printer, Melbourne.

Port Phillip gazette (1838-1841)

Parliamentary publications

Parliamentary Debates

Current

Debates (Hansard)

All Parliaments from 1856 to 1999 now available for download. 1991 - searchable

Historical

Parliamentary debates / Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly. 1866-1958

Parliamentary debates (Hansard) / Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly. 1959-82

Parliamentary debates (Hansard) / Parliament of Victoria, Legislative Assembly 1982-

Parliamentary debates (Hansard) / Parliament of Victoria, Legislative Council 1982-

Victorian Hansard containing the debates and proceedings of the Legislative Council & Assembly of the Colony of Victoria, 1856-57 only

 

Parliamentary Committees

Current

Parliamentary Committees

Historical

Worthington, J.M. (1909), Index to the parliamentary papers, reports of select committees, and returns to orders, bills, etc. 1851-1909, J. Kemp, govt. printer, Melbourne.

Borchardt, D.H. (1970), Checklist of Royal Commissions, Select Committees of Parliament and Boards of Inquiry. Part III, Victoria, 1856-1960, Wentworth Books, Sydney.

Hagger, J. (1980), Consolidated index to the Checklists of Royal Commissions, Select Committees of Parliament and Boards of Inquiry, held in the Commonwealth of Australia, Queensland, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania and Victoria, 1856-1960, La Trobe University, Bundoora.

Borchardt, D.H. (1986), Checklist of Royal Commissions, Select Committees of Parliament and Boards of Inquiry Commonwealth, New South Wales, Queensland, Tasmania and Victoria, 1960-1980 and South Australia, 1970-1980, La Trobe University, Bundoora.

Marshall, J. (1990), The literature on royal commissions, select committees of Parliament and boards of inquiry held in Australia 1856-1980 : a select bibliography, La Trobe University Library, Melbourne.
This publication expands on the work of Borchardt by providing references to all the comment in newspapers, books and journals surrounding major government inquiries and commissions, thus placing them in historical context.

Parliamentary Papers

Current-online

Tabled documents database

This database lists all the documents tabled in the Current Parliament. Tabled documents include annual reports, parliamentary committee reports, reports by independent officers of the parliament (like the Ombudsman), petitions, regulations and official notices.

Historical-online

Victorian Parliamentary papers Database  1851-

Searchable pdfs of all Victorian parliamentary papers are now available online. This is the first time that the 10,000+ documents are together online.

Documents back to 1851 are included.

Included in this series are government reports which have been tabled in parliament and ordered to be printed including. Many reports are tabled but not ordered to be printed

  • annual reports of government departments and agencies,
  • royal commissions, boards of inquiry,
  • reports of parliamentary committees
  • departmental reports that a minister wants to draw to the attention of parliament
  • budget papers

1996-

Votes and Proceedings-Select Parliamentary Documents

Minutes of Proceedings-Select Parliamentary Documents

Historical -Print

Parliamentary papers

Victoria. Parliament. Legislative Assembly. Votes and proceedings of the Legislative Assembly: with copies of the various documents ordered by the Assembly to be printed, (1857- ), Government Printer, Melbourne.

Victoria. Parliament. Legislative Council. Votes and proceedings of the Legislative Council during the session : with copies of the various documents ordered by the Council to be printed, (1852-1890), Government Printer, Melbourne.

Victoria. Parliament. Legislative Council. Minutes of the proceedings of the Legislative Council : with copies of the various documents ordered by the Council to be printed, (1891- ), Govt. Printer, Melbourne.


Indexes


Also available online 1996-

 
Notice Paper
Leg Ass.  Question Paper

Leg Ass Votes and Proceedings
Leg Council  Minutes of Proceedings
Leg Council  Notice Paper
Leg Council  Unanswered Questions on Notice Booklet

See also Indexes to Parliamentary Committees listed above


Biographical works

Current

Member Information

Historical

Online

Re-Member- searchable database of former members of Parliament


Library holdings-print

Browne, G. (1985), Biographical register of the Victorian Parliament, 1900-84, Victorian Government Printing Office, Melbourne.

Thomson, K. and & Serle, G. (1972), A biographical register of the Victorian legislature, 1851-1900, Australian National University Press, Canberra.

Laws/Acts/Bills

 Legislation

Current

Historical

Monash University Law Library (Level 1) holds a collection of Victorian legislation:

  • Acts of the Victorian Parliament, 1851 to present
    Reprinted Acts, current reprint only
  • Statutory Rules, 1911 to present
    Reprinted Statutory Rules, current reprint only
  • Bills, 1857 to present

Bills

Archives (1996 - present)

Bills Lists 1981 - 1995
Australian Parliamentary Library publication.