Health Sciences: Databases

Guide to resources for assessment tasks in health issues, health education and public health

Key databases

Databases are accessed from the Library home page. Click on the Databases A-Z link directly below the Search box.

Suggested databases for Health Sciences include:

Ovid Medline

- Key medical database covering medicine, nursing, allied health and pre clinical sciences


- Covers nursing, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines

Health collection (Informit collections)

- Excellent source of Australasian health and medicine content, including therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health

ProQuest health & medical complete

- Coverage of all major clinical and healthcare disciplines


- Covers psychological, social, behavioral and health sciences


- Covers the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences

Web of Science

- Consists of seven databases covering the sciences, humanities and social sciences

EBM Reviews

- Database available via the Ovid interface useful for searching systematic reviews

Cochrane Library

- Produced by the international Cochrane Collaboration, the Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane database of systematic reviews

PLoS Clinical Trials

- The PLoS Hub for Clinical Trials features articles originally published in PLoS Clinical Trials, along with articles from all the PLoS titles that publish clinical trials.

Best practice

-a decision-support tool for use at the point of care. Covers prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis.

All databases for Health Sciences

Australian Clinical Practice Guidelines Portal

Access high quality, evidence-based clinical practice guidelines developed for use in Australian health care settings.

Database alerts

Once you have completed your search in a database, you can set up alerts to receive an email on a regular basis (eg. weekly/monthly) with a list of new articles that match your search query.  

You generally need to set up a free personal account in each relevant database - look for an ‘Alert’ or ‘Create Alert’ link on the search results screen or main search page.

Systematic reviews

For more information about Systematic Reviews, see the Sense About Science website which contains the document below: