Skip to content

Indonesian Studies: Balai Pustaka Collection

A comprehensive library guide for researchers and students of all aspects of Indonesian Studies

Balai Pustaka

Balai Pustaka

Information

Balai Pustaka collection (1911-1980)

LocationAsian Collections

The Balai Pustaka collection consists of nearly 1500 books published by the Indonesian publishing house, Balai Pustaka. Balai Pustaka was founded in the Dutch East Indies colonial era by the Commissie voor de Volkslectuur (Committee of Popular Literature) in 1908.

The Monash Balai Pustaka collection includes books published between 1911 and 1980 and, though not complete, has especially good holdings for the 1920s and 1930s. It includes original works by Indonesian authors, traditional literature, classical works, Indonesian translations of Western novels, almanacs, and information publications. The books are in Indonesian, Dutch, and various local Indonesian languages.

NOTE: Balai Pustaka publications published after 1980 are held in the Indonesian monograph collection.

Full details for books in the Balai Pustaka collection are available in Search.

A complete list of the collection is also available at http://www.lib.monash.edu.au/matheson/asrc/inventories/balai-pustaka-collection.pdf

Another source of Balai Pustaka publications in the Monash Library is Indonesian Monographs 1945 - 1968
This collection includes microfilmed copies of Balai Pustaka books published between 1945 and 1968.

Monash University Library also holds Pandji Poestaka, the Malay illustrated weekly published by Balai Pustaka, and its predecessor, Sri Poestaka.