Indonesian Studies: Indonesian Special Collection

A comprehensive library guide for researchers and students of all aspects of Indonesian Studies

Information

Indonesian Historical collection

This collection consists of over 5000 volumes of books and serials about Indonesia from the Dutch East Indies era. The collection covers the 19th and early 20th centuries (to 1950).

Details of all items can be found through Search.

The items in the collection are not for loan and should be read in the Rare Books reading room. Consult the Rare Books Collection or Asian Collections information desks for assistance with accessing items from the collection.

Charles Coppel's Collection

This Collection comprises 42 boxes of materials relating to Charles Coppel’s research on ethnic Chinese in Indonesia. Particular strengths include literature in colloquial or low Malay used by the Chinese and others in the urban centres of Indonesia. Religion: Confucianism (Khong Kauw), Buddhism, Taoism, Tridharma (Sam Kauw). Theosophy and Javanese mysticism. 

The collection also includes the documents relate to the assimilationist movement from the 1960s, the Indonesian government policy on “The Chinese Problem”, and and anti-Chinese violence in Indonesia in the late 1990s. The majority of Coppel's collection are copies he made from collection owned by other researchers or held at various libraries, including John Kwee, Claudine Salmon, Myra Sidharta, the Perpustakaan Negara Indonesia, the H.B.Jassin Literature Documentation Centre, the Library of University Kebangsaan Malaysia in Bangi, the KITLV Library, the Hendrik Kraemer Institute Library in Oegstgeest, and the library of the MAKIN (Confucian) Lithang. 

You can find this collection through Monash catalogue and it is located in Matheson Library ASRL SEA Pamphlets. Please contact the subject librarian for Indonesian Studies if you want to access it. You can view the list of the whole collection from this document below. 

Java

undefined