Skip to content

Journalism: Home

New titles

Journalism

Useful Library Links

Suggest a purchase

Let us know if you would like any books, journals or audio visual materials added to our collection.

Help

Need to ask a question? 
ask.monash

Or phone +61 3 9905 5054

Welcome

This guide is designed to assist you with locating resources relevant to studying journalism.

The library collections at Caulfield provide support for research and teaching in Journalism.

Contacts

Contact librarians:

Janet McGarry (Caulfield Library) 

Contact Librarians can assist with:

  • how and where to start researching your topic
  • effective use of databases and the internet
  • finding and evaluating information
  • using the Library's collections
  • located at the Research and Learning Point, by appointment or online.

Learning skills advisers:

Fiona Patterson (Caulfield Library) 

Learning skills advisors can assist with approaches to learning, including:

  • essay, report and thesis writing
  • writing for research projects
  • oral communication and presentation
  • located at the Research and Learning Point, by appointment or online.

Slow TV

Are online publications a quality substitute for newspapers?

Are online media, blogs and tweets able to do the job that the fourth estate has been doing?

In this Slow TV video, Paul Ramadge, Editor in Chief of The Age and Eric Beecher, Crikey Proprietor and former Editor of the Sydney Morning Herald debate the future of quality newspapers in Australia.

Useful journalism links

WikiLeaks US Embassy Cables is the site providing access to the 251,287 secret documents released into the public domain


TV News database is topical, current and relevant. Includes news and current affairs programmes from ABC and SBS. For example the Insiders shown on a Sunday morning is usually available by Tuesday online.Videos work best with the web browser, Internet Explorer


Analysis & Policy Observatory (APO) is a research focused website which includes many new reports on social issues concerning Australia and the world in general. It is updated weekly


Slow TV comprises discussions, debates, lectures on Australian political, social and cultural issues. It is a new median in providing relevant political content, linked to The Monthly magazine


Newsbank offers complete full-text content of more than 100 local, regional, and national newspapers. Covers community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded. 90 international titles are also available for searching


News That Moves offers up-to-date news, weather and other information relevant to refugees and asylum seekers.

Social Media