Skip to content

Finding yourself: citation tracking for Monash Law authors: Journals

Full-text Australian law journals

LexisNexis AU

  • Go to the Journals tab and search the full-text of LexisNexis published Australian law journals and bulletins.

  • Format example:. (john w/2 smith) BUT NOT AUTHOR(smith)


Westlaw AU (Thomson/Lawbook)

  • Select Journals and search full-text Thomson Reuters published Australian law journals using the Free text search box.

  • Format example: john /2 smith 

AustLII Journals

  • Search full-text Australian and New Zealand law journals (most are not recent issues)

  • See also the detailed instructions in the AustLII tab on this guide.

Law Institute Journal - via the Law Institute of Victoria website (Monash subscription)

  • Search full-text from 2002 to present.

Informit databases

AGIS Plus text and APA - FT (Australian Public Affairs - Fulltext)

  • Search for your name in FC - Full content (click to Show all other fields)

  • In the second box select NOT, then enter your last name and select the Author field

  • Limit Search to Full text only

 

  • At the results, go to the full article and find your name.

Hein Online

HeinOnline 

Search the full-text of U.S. and foreign law journals, and other publications such as international law yearbooks and special collections.

Method 1

  • Perform an Advanced search of all subscribed Hein databases, entering your name ("first name last name") and any keywords from the title in the Full Text box
  • Use the left frame, Refine Your Search, to narrow down by Collection and Year
  • At the results, click  to see where/how you have been cited.

Method 2

  • In Advanced Search, type your name in the Author box - Last name, First name (eg. Smith, John)
  • At the results. click the Cited by link   

Other law related journal databases

Kluwer Law Online

  • Search in Journals (about 20 journals published by Kluwer Law)

LegalTrac

  • Search within Entire Document

Proquest

  • Includes databases such as Proquest Criminal Justice and ABI/INFORM (Business)

  • Advanced Search within Document text - FT

Law Review Commons

Law Review Commons

Search in  200,000 open access law-related scholarly articles from the institutional repositories from hundreds of academic institutions worldwide.

  • Search in All fields

  • Download the full article from the results and do a CTRL F to find your name

Westlaw International

Westlaw Next

Search the full-text of over 1000 journals from the US, UK and Canada and around the world.

  • At the International Materials homepage, select Journals
     
  • Search for your name in the full-text but not where you are the author

   eg.  john /2 smith % AU(smith)

  translates to [search john within 2 words of smith BUT NOT where smith is the Author]

Lexis.com

Lexis.com

  • Search various journal groupings arranged by jurisdiction, primarily from the US and UK.

  • At the Lexis.com home page (make sure the Legal tab is showing), click Secondary Legal

  • Select  Law Reviews, CLE, Legal Journals & Periodicals, Combined

  • Search by restricting to Footnotes segment. At the drop down box Restrict by Document Segment, select FOOTNOTE-1

  • Enter your search, eg. john w/2 smith

  • Click Add, then Search

  • At the results, view the article with the keywords in context to see where your name appears. At the View drop down box, click KWIC 

Note that searches can be saved as Alerts so that new references are sent to your email. Contact the Law Library staff if you need an individual password.

EBSCOhost databases

Includes databases: Criminal Justice Abstracts with Fulltext and Business Source Complete

Method 1

  • Search by name and/or title words in the Field: TX All Text and NOT name in the Field: Author

  • Go to the fulltext article and CTRL F for your name.

Method 2

  • Search for your name in the Author field

  • At the results click the link to Cited References

Social Science Citation Index on Web of Science

Web of Science (Social Science Citation Index)

  • Click the drop down arrow next to Basic Search to select Cited Reference Search 

  • Enter your name (last name followed by first name or initial*)  in the Cited Author box
  • Select the relevant articles, then click Finish Search 
  • Clcik the title of each citing article, then click  Cited References in the right frame. Look for your article in the list.
  • Create a citation report  to see a breakdown of citations by year 
  • Create an alert for new citing references