Skip to content

Japanese Teaching Collection: Finding materials

Melbourne Centre for Japanese Language Education Collection. Guide to resources for Japanese teachers of primary and secondary schools

Japanese Teaching Collection call numbers

Number Subject
495.607 Education, research, teaching methods
495.611 Writing Japanese, Hiragana, Katakana, Kanji
495.65 Grammar
495.681 Words, vocabularies
495.6824 Textbooks and exercises for reading and writing
495.6834 Textbooks and exercises for speaking and listening
495.684 Textbooks for primary schools (Monbusho kentei kyokasho)
495.686 Readers, picture books
915.2 Geography of and travel in Japan
952 Japanese history

Picture

Image courtesy of deshow.net

Finding materials

  • To find resources in the library, click hereSearch or from the Library homepage.
  • Using Natural language, a simple search box will bring back results from a number of different sources.
  • You can refine the results of your basic search.
  • For more options you can do an advanced search.

Library has recently created a library guide for "Finding non-English resources" in Search.

You will be able to learn how to find Japanese resources in Search.

Tips

From Basic search 

Example:   

Type: 日本語 and select  “Library collections” 
(You will find 日本語resources held in the Library) 
Then refine your results by “Collection - Japanese Teaching Collection” (You will find 日本語resources held in the Japanese Teaching Collection) 

  

Type: Cooking Japanese and select “Library collections”   
Then refine your results by “Collection - Japanese Teaching Collection” (You will find resources on food, eating and cookbooks held in the Japanese Teaching Collection) 

  

From Advanced search 

Example: 

Select “as author” and “contains”, Type: Sue Burnham and select “Library collections”   
Then refine your results by “Collection - Japanese Teaching Collection” (You will find resources written by Sue Burnham held in the Japanese Teaching Collection)