Skip to content

Mechanical and aerospace engineering: Databases

This guide presents selected reference and research resources for Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

Full text format

The two main formats of full text are html and pdf.

html:
loads quickly but there is no page numbering. Hot links are provided.
pdf:
includes the original page numbering which is useful when you cite the reference. Hot links are not provided.

Library links

Web links

Related pages

Click the tabs above for:

  • Patents
  • Standards and
  • Theses

Key databases

  • Coverage: a multidisciplinary engineering database. Includes "Compendex" database (focus: chemical, civil, and mechanical engineering) and "Inspec" database (focus: electrical, electronics, computer engineering, and physics.)
  • Date range: 1884 to present (Compendex), 1896 to present (Inspec).
  • Publication type: Journal article, Conference article, Monograph chapter, Report and Patent.
  • Full-text: The yellow "Full-Text" icons provide access to full text of the article. 
  • Search options: One of the options for refining search results is faceted searching - A "Refine Results" box to the right of the results list has clusters of ten terms for seven fields including Controlled Vocabulary. An easy and effective way to refine searches. 
  • EndNote: Direct export.
  • Coverage: a database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. 
  • Date range: 1960 to present.
  • Publication types: Journal article, Conference article, Short survey from Trade journal, Patent, Open access journal article, Web source.
  • Full-text: The "View at Publisher" icons provide access to full text of the article. 
  • Search options: click the "Cited by" button to view a list of documents which cite the document in your search results.
  • EndNote: Direct export.
  • Coverage: provides access to bibliographic information and and cited references in a broad range of disciplines. Although not its primary strength, it can be useful for cross disciplinary searching.
  • Date range: 1900 to present.
  • Publication types: Journal article, Conference paper, Reviews, News item, and Editorial material. 
  • Full-text: The "Full Text" icons provide access to full text of the article.
  • Search options: One of the easy and effective way to refine searches is to use the options listed through the "Refine Results" box to the left of the results list.
  • EndNote: Direct export.

Full-text journal collections

Find journals

Search for journal titles in the library catalogue use the Advanced search option and select Journal. Enter the first words of the title in exact order.

Use the library databases to search the contents of journals quickly and efficiently.

Journals not held by Monash University

Register as a CAVAL borrower and visit other Victorian University and TAFE libraries. Postgraduate- and 4th year students can register to use Document Delivery to request the loan of books not held by Monash University Library.