Medical imaging and radiation sciences: Services for staff and supervisors

Guide to information resources and services for Medical imaging and radiation sciences

Featured resources

Research impact and publishing

The Research Impact and Publishing Library Guide has information on commonly used metrics and tools for demonstrating the impact of research.

Document Delivery

The document delivery service is available to Monash University staff and postgraduates to request books or journal articles that are not held in the Monash University Library collection.

See the Document Delivery library guide for more information, or request an item using the online request form.

Suggest a purchase

You are encouraged to recommend material to add to the Library’s collection to support your research.

Send requests to your contact librarian or fill in the suggestion form

Check for full text link in PubMed

Check for full text   in PubMed can be activated in two ways, by accessing PubMed through a special URL or by setting up My NCBI to access Check for full text.

Accessing PubMed through a special URL

  • Access this Monash University PubMed special URL (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/sites/entrez?otool=iaumullib)  
  • Do your search.
  • Click on the title to display the selected citation in abstract format. Check for full text button should now display at the top right of the abstract.

Note:
1. The PubMed link listed on the A-Z databases uses this special URL.
2. A user accessing PubMed through this special URL is not signed into personal My NCBI.

Setting up My NCBI to display Check for full text

*You only need to set this up once.
(
Register for a My NCBI account if you do not have one.)

  • Sign in to My NCBI. You may need to click on My NCBI (next to your username) again to display your My NCBI page.
  • Click on NCBI Site Preferences (top right).
  • Click on Outside Tool (under PubMed Preferences).
  • Click on M (A to Z list)
  • Click on the radio button next to Monash University Check for full text.
  • Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click on the Save button.

Note:
If you wish to change the default search result display to abstract format, go to NCBI Site Preferences and under PubMed Preferences, click on Result Display settings and then the radio button next to Abstract (under default format) and then click on Save button.
 

Access the resources you want from where you want - bookmarklet for Monash authentication

When you have discovered resources via a general search over the internet, typically you will be asked to subscribe and/or pay a fee to access the full-text content. You can use this bookmarklet to re-direct the web page to go through the Monash University Library electronic resources gateway, which will then allow you full-text access to the content. 

To create the Monash ezproxy bookmarklet

Drag and drop the Access via Monash button below to your browser's bookmark bar

Access via Monash

OR

Create the bookmarklet manually:

  1. Copy the script below to text editor such as Notepad
  2. Create a Bookmark or Favorite by bookmarking a web page. Locate the bookmark and open it for direct editing:
    • For Firefox etc edit 'Name' field: enter suitable text eg 'Access via Monash'; in 'Location' field; paste the Notepad script over the URL
    • For Internet Explorer, edit 'General' and 'Web Document' tabs

Access via Monash script

javascript:void(location.href=location.protocol+'//'+location.hostname+'.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au'+location.pathname+location.search+location.hash)

To use the Monash ezproxy bookmarklet

  1. Search and discover electronic resources such as journal articles.
  2. Click the Bookmark or Favorite you just created. This will bring you to the Monash University Library electronic resources access gateway where you will be asked to enter your Monash computer account details.
  3. Enter your Monash computer account details and you should be able to access full-text via the Library's subscription.

Acknowledgment

This bookmarklet and user instructions are adopted from the information made available via pages (now archived) prepared by Dr Russell Anderson from Monash School of Physics. 

Use the EzProxy bookmarklet generator

This online generator will create a bookmarklet for any EzProxy URL entered. The Monash EzProzy URL for this tool is:

http://ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/login?url=

This tool is developed by Phil Wolstenholm.

Note

Although the Library subscribe to many electronic resources there will be cases where no full-text access is granted even via the Library's gateway. In these cases, please contact the Library for other access options.