Skip to content

Medicine: Books and reading lists

Guide to information resources and services for Medicine, including basic and clinical sciences.

Affiliated hospital libraries

For students based at hospitals, the local hospital library is your home library. Visit the library to register as a user. For more information see www.monash.edu/library/libraries/hospital

Print copies of MBBS prescribed textbooks for years 3B-5D are available in the major affiliated hospital libraries. Use Search to find the record for a specific textbook and identify which hospital libraries hold copies. Check the local hospital library catalogue to determine the availability of a specific textbook.

Borrowing from other academic libraries in Victoria

A CAVAL card allows you to borrow from other academic libraries in Victoria (excluding high-demand materials). To obtain a CAVAL card, visit a Monash University Library branch.

Borrowing for off campus Monash students

If you are enrolled in an off-campus learning course, or more than 50% of your enrolment is in off-campus mode, you are eligible for off campus library services.

Finding books in the Monash University Library collection

See your unit Reading List for prescribed and recommended textbooks.

Search can help you find library resources.

Search

     

Placing a Hold Request in the libary Search catalogue

Click below for a visual tutorial on how to place a Hold request.

Call numbers - Medicine


eBook collections

Access Medicine includes basic and clinical science texts online.
SpringerLink provides access to millions of scientific works including books and book chapters.
StatREF includes general clinical medicine, pharmacology, physiology, surgery or psychiatry ebooks (5 simultaneous users).
World Scientific ebooks include coverage of a broad range of areas within medicine.
Books@Ovid includes a large collection of clinical medicine books online.
ProQuest ebook central includes a wide range of full text ebooks.

For more about ebooks see the Guide to locating and using e-books

Call number online tutorial

Test your understanding of call numbers in this drag-and-drop-activity.