Informit EduTV Streamed video (duration: 48m 31s) "Michael Mosley goes on a journey to discover the truth about exercise, revealing the latest scientific discoveries about how the human body responds to a workout and why people respond differently." [Description: Informit EduTV]
Limited access: 25 concurrent users only.
Anatomy & physiology online includes 20 comprehensive modules on the human body encompassing Primal's award winning 3D anatomy and new integrated physiology content. Stunning interactive 3D anatomy views allow you to engage with the 3D model using intuitive functions to rotate, add or remove anatomy and identify and learn more about any visible structure. Each module has case studies, giving real medical context and relevance, as well as a dedicated section on aging. Test your knowledge with the interactive quizzes at the end of each section.;"""The representation of the body in Primal's range of software is unique because of its accuracy and detail. It is derived from genuine medical scan data that has been interpreted by a team of Primal anatomists and then translated into three-dimensional images by an expert team of graphics specialists. The anatomy visuals are accompanied by three-dimensional animations that demonstrate function, biomechanics and surgical procedures. To supplement the core three-dimensional anatomy data are clinical videos and text written by some of the world's leading medical specialists.""--Primal Pictures."
Ovid MEDLINE is the United States National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premier bibliographic database providing information from the following fields: medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, allied health and pre-clinical sciences. The MEDLINE database is the electronic counterpart of Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and the International Nursing Index.
Browser requirements: Mozilla® Firefox® version 15.x ; Google Chrome™ version 22.x; IE version 11
Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.
CINAHL Plus provides indexing for over 4,000 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. ...
Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.;"CINAHL Plus also includes the Pre-CINAHL dataset. Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and is collection of records that provide basic bibliographic information before they are indexed with CINAHL Headings. As Pre-CINAHL journal articles are indexed, the records are replaced with complete CINAHL records."
A repository of medical knowledge, the AccessMedicine site provides access to the Clinical Library, comprising titles which have various interactive features, and also to the LANGE Educational Library, made up of electronic text reproductions of selected print medical education titles (non-interactive). Also includes sections entitled Guidelines, Quick Access Medicine, LANGE Case Files and Laboratory Values.
System requirements for Windows: Windows XP SP2, Vista; Internet Explorer 6.0 (XP only);Internet Explorer 7.0: Latest version of Adobe Shockwave Player, Adobe Flash Player and Adobe Reader: Resolution 1024x768.
System requirements for Macintosh: OS: 10.4x, 10.5x; Resolution: 1024x768; Latest version of Adobe Shockwave Player, Adobe Flash Player and Adobe Reader; Browsers: Safari 2.0.2 (10.4x only); Safari 3.0.
Informit EduTV provides content across a range of learning areas including Business, Economics, Health, History, Indigenous studies, Legal studies, Media studies, Performing arts, Politics, Government, Religious studies, Science, Technology, Society, Culture, Visual arts and design. As well as significant documentaries Informit EduTV also includes several programs broadcast on Pay TV channels such as The History Channel, National Geographic, NITV, BBC Knowledge and Discovery