Skip to content

Mining engineering: Reference works

Resources for Mining Engineering

Background information for Mining Engineering

Handbooks

Geomechanics handbooks

  • Geologic hazards: a field guide for geotechnical engineers 2007 online
  • Geotechnical earthquake engineering handbook 2012 online
  • Geotechnical engineering investigation handbook 2005 online
  • Geotechnical investigation methods: a field guide for geotechnical engineers 2007 online
  • Handbook of geotechnical investigation and design tables 2nd ed. 2014 online
  • Land development handbook: planning, engineering, and surveying 2008 online
  • Reservoir engineering handbook 2010 (oil & gas) online
  • SME mining reference handbook 2002 print and online

Statistics sources

  • See online publication: "1301.0 - Year Book Australia" -> Industry -> Mining available online from Australian Bureau of Statistics database
  • See online publication: "8412.0 - Mineral and Petroleum Exploration, Australia"  (Quarterly) available online from Australian Bureau of Statistics database
  • See online publication: "8155.0 - Australian Industry" available online from Australian Bureau of Statistics database
  • See online publication series "Mining in Australia", Australia Industry Report available online IBIS world database. This series contains reports on specific minerals, as well as general reports such as "mineral exploration in Australia" and contains statistical sources.
    Choose Browse Reports by Industry sector --> Mining       
  • See Statistics Digest, produced by Department of Mines and Petroleum (Government of Western Australia)
  • US Geological Survey Minerals Yearbook  "Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment."

Search tip

Type the term dictionaries or encyclopedias with a topic keyword in  Search to limit your search to these types of publications. For example:

  • human geography dictionaries
  • climate change encyclopedias

Handbooks - Mining Engineering

The following resources are all available online as e-books:

Note: The mining valuation handbook: mining and energy valuation for investors and management: 4th ed. 2012 Print See also online below