Skip to content

Politics and International Relations: Keeping up to date

This guide will introduce you to resources for politics and international relations.

New issues?

Newspapers

The Library subscribes to the fulltext of major newspapers. Print copies of daily papers, such as The Age and The Australian and the Herald-Sun (Berwick and Gippsland) are available for reading.

Online copies of selected sections are available via the internet at the newspapers web address, for example, www.theage.com.au. Access to these is usually available for 1-2 weeks.

If you are searching for a recent article it is possible to locate it through one of our newspaper databases: Factiva or Newsbank. They will also link to the fulltext. Google sometimes links to newspapers articles but the fulltext is not always available.

The Library provides archival access to many newspapers in microfilm. The details are available in the catalogue and there is a country approach on the Library newspapers page

Alerting you to new research

There are three ways to receive updates on your research topic.

1. search the key database, save the search strategy, set up an Alert using the alert services button.his will enable updates of new articles defined by the search terms you have constructed being added to your email on a regular basis. 

2. subscribe to the table of contents (TOC) alert service of specific journals.  Supervisors/colleagues may recommend titles and the results from database searches will also identify relevant journal titles.

3. Use a database to identify an article central to your topic. Some databases include a "cited by" feature which enables  you to track who has cited the article. You can then establish an alert to anyone else who cites the article in future journals. The Web of Knowledge databases, CSA Illumina databases and Scopus allow this feature.

Political blogs

Political blogs can be useful in assessing public opinion and identifying issues around a topic. The best blogs are usually associated with the major newspapers and the main journalists. The National Times and Crikey are also useful for Australian topics. 

Note that political blogs are not considered as academic sources.

Subscribe to political RSS feeds

There are many current affairs based sites which provide up to date information on a wide range of topics relevant to political studies at Monash. For example, the ABC radio and television programs. One way of keeping tabs is to subscribe to feeds on these programs. An example is the RSS feed on the homepage of this LibGuide to the Radio National's Late Night Live program hosted by Phillip Adams. Radio National also provides a politics feed from a range of programs. See the link below.

ABC Radio National - Politics

Loading