Skip to Main Content

Library Search (original): Advanced search

Help with using Search, the Library's discovery platform

Performing Advanced searches

Offers more features for precision searching and focusing the initial result set. The Advanced Search search form assists you to construct Boolean and more complex searches according a range of parameters, including publication date, material type, language and collection.

Advanced Search allows you to specify fields, material types, languages, dates and collection scopes of the item you are looking for:

Search as Material types Languages Creation dates Collection scopes
  • keyword (default)
  • title
  • author/creator
  • subject
  • user tag
  • All items (default)
  • Articles
  • audio cds
  • Audio Visual
  • Book Chapters
  • Books
  • Databases
  • Datasets
  • DVDs
  • Images
  • Journals
  • Lectures Online
  • Loose Leaf
  • Maps
  • Past Exams
  • Patents
  • Reading Lists
  • Scores
  • Theses
  • Web Sites
  • Any language (default)
  • Arabic
  • Byelorussian
  • Bulgarian
  • Chinese
  • Czech
  • Dutch
  • English
  • French
  • German
  • Greek, Ancient [to 1453]
  • Greek, Modern 91453- ]
  • Hebrew
  • Indonesian
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Javanese
  • Khmer
  • Korean
  • Lao
  • Latin
  • Malay
  • Polish
  • Portuguese
  • Russian
  • Serbian
  • Spanish
  • Sudanese
  • Tagalog
  • Thai
  • Ukrainian
  • Vietnamese
  • Yiddish
 Start and/or
End dates
  • All resources (default)
  • Library collections
  • Rare Books Collection
  • Popular databases

Using subject headings

To find items by subject :

  1. Choose Advanced Search
  2. Change drop down box to in Subject



Subject examples

  • Documentary films (or other genres eg. Horror films; Newsreels; Science fiction films; War films)
  • Motion picture industry
  • Motion picture plays – technique can also be used
  • Motion picture producers and directors eg Alexander Kluge etc
  • Motion pictures - aesthetics
  • Motion pictures - Australia (or other countries eg. Japan; Germany)
  • Motion pictures - reviews
  • Motion pictures in propaganda (or other concepts eg in ethnology)
  • Performing arts
  • Personal names of directors, filmmakers etc.
  • Television - broadcasting
  • Television - production and direction
  • Television programs - reviews
  • Women in motion pictures

Subheadings or extensions, for example, countries, relevant century, type of publication (catalogs, exhibitions, bibliographies etc) can be applied to subject headings to narrow the search. For example:

  • Motion picture industry - Italy