Skip to content

Library Search: Database search

Help with using Search, the Library's discovery platform

Databases Library guide

The Library uses Libray guides to index its collection of databases:

You will also find key databases and electronic resources curated by subject librarians in various subject-based Library guides.

Using Databases search

The Databases search link in Search allows you to access content from database resources not included in the All resources search.

  1. Click on the Databases search link above the search box at the top right of the Search home page. This will open the Find Databases screen.
  2. In the All databases tab use the A-Z links to filter your to databases by title or use the ‘Type’, ‘Category’ and ‘Sub-category’ fields near the top of the screen to filter by format or subject.
    Alternatively, type the name of the database into the search box and see a list of results displayed in the Databases results tab.
  3. Scroll down the list of database titles, and select the databases you want to use by checking the tick box next to your selected titles.
  4. Now use the Go to Search button at the bottom left, to save your selection for this session
  5. This will return you to the Search basic search screen. Enter your search terms into the search field and press the Go button to execute.
  6. Your results will display in the usual way and Search will retain this database selection, for the life of your current session. You can use the more info link on the left hand side Database facets list to find details about the results each selected database has returned.
  7. If you want to save this database set, and use this set to search again in the future, you can use the Save query function at the top of the facet list to save this database search and re-execute it in future. Once you have re-executed the search, you can also run other searches in the same database set without having to re-select your database set.

Note: You will need to sign in to use the Save query function