This collection consists of Russian satirical journals which were produced during the revolutionary upheaval of 1905-1907. The physical issues come from the collection of the Institute of Modern Russian Culture at the University of Southern California.
Pravda ("Truth") was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and it soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics.
The Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System Online provides access to digitized materials selected from the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System (HPSSS). The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions. The HPSSS’s value is compounded by the fact that it was compiled in English and organized according to a rigorous social science framework, making it accessible to a broad range of students and scholars.
Website in French, Russian and English.
Librarium.fr is an archive of hundreds illustrated publications of Russian emigration between World Wars I and II. Russia Illustrated, the main magazine of Russian emigration, published since 1924 till 1939 in Paris, forms the majority of materials this site offers. 748 issues printed in 15 years are comprehensive annals showing all facets of Russian emigration existence in Europe and all over the world.
Includes European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation. The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
The Center for Urban History of East Central Europe is a research institute that studies the city of the past as well as lives and works in the city of the present. The website offers digitized material and interactive resources and is available in English, Ukrainian, Russian, and Polish.
The Russia State Duma election, 2011 database includes close to 6,000 pages of fully searchable biographical sketches of the leaders of the major Russian political parties, party programs, flyers, posters, photographic representations of demonstrations, media reports, party propaganda brochures and booklets, financial disclosures and much more.