Skip to content

Slavic Studies: Home

A guide to Slavic Studies resources at Monash University Library, including the Ada Booth Slavic Collection

Contact

For any questions regarding the Slavic collection, research in Slavic Studies or to suggest a purchase please get in contact with:

Anna Rubinowski, Slavic Studies (Ada Booth Librarian), German Studies, International Studies

 

Welcome

Welcome to the Slavic Studies Library Guide, designed to help you locate resources related to Eastern European, Russian and Soviet Studies within the Monash University Library Collections and in collections held at other institutions.

 

Slavic Collections at Monash

The Ada Booth Slavic Collection is held at the Sir Louis Matheson Library, Clayton, and is one of the best and most comprehensive Slavic language materials collections in Australia. In addition, Monash University Libraries hold materials in English and other languages relating to Slavic Studies across its branches. The Library also provides access to major Slavic Studies databases.

 

Searching and finding resources in Cyrillic languages

The Library catalogues all titles in Slavic languages in transliteration. Transliteration is used to display the Cyrillic alphabet using Roman characters. The transliteration follows the transliteration tables provided by the Library of Congress for various non-Roman languages (ALA-LC Romanization Tables: Transliteration Schemes for Non-Roman Scripts), including Slavic and non-Slavic languages that use the Cyrillic alphabet. 

Only titles acquired in the last few years will have the original Cyrillic title included in the catalogue record, therefore it is important to be familiar with the correct transliteration method used. Check individual databases to find more information on what transliteration standard was used.

You can find more information on how to search for material in languages other than English in the Library Guide for Finding non-English resources.