The AFI Catalog is a national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloguing currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards. Drawing on the expertise of specialist staff at the American Film Institute (AFI), it is a key resource for any educational institution, library, or film organization that is involved with the research, study and teaching of film. Search via key word, film title, character name, cast and crew production, release information, subject, genre, and songs. Plot summaries are included in most entries.
Final release (Feb. 11, 2009) contains 1,009 scripts by 1,062 writers. It also contains facsimilie images for more than 500 of these screenplays. Many of the scripts have never been published. The database is full-text searchable and includes detailed indexing on scenes, characters, and people. Supplemental information includes short biographies on the writers and awards given to individual films have been noted.
A searchable database of over 700 electronic books published by Amsterdam University Press, with special emphasis in the areas of the humanities (language and literature, history, film studies, art) and social sciences.
Artfilms-Digital is the video streaming service of Contemporary Arts Media. Contemporary Arts Media was founded in 2000 ... In 2004 CAM extended its range of films across all art forms: from performing to performance, from music to electronic media, from physical to spiritual, from visual arts to photography, fashion and later included philosophy and religion, gastronomy, history and politics and psychology. Today CAM offers more than 4000 films for arts education and arts practitioners. Monash University Library subscribes to approximately 300 of these titles in streaming video format. Each title is catalogued separately, and is hyperlinked in Search.
Monash University Library subscribes to approximately 300 of these titles in streaming video format. Each title is catalogued separately, and is hyperlinked in Search.
Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
"Developed by Curriculum Corporation through The Le@rning Federation, the education collection is designed to help teachers and students make the most of the wide range of moving image resources on the site. The clips in this collection are accompanied by teachers' notes created by specialist curriculum writers. Expert curators' notes also provide useful background material ... There are currently 1065 clips with teachers' notes."--Title page.
"australianscreen is a look at the Australian film and television industry, from its earliest days to the present. You can view clips from Australian feature films, documentaries, TV programs, shorts, home movies, newsreels, advertisements, other historical footage, and sponsored films produced over the last 100 years, with curators' notes and other information about each title. The site currently contains 1,572 clips from 614 film and television titles, and is constantly being added to ...The site brings together material from the vast collections of the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Archives of Australia, the ABC, SBS, and AIATSIS " -- Home, and about page.
...The site brings together material from the vast collections of the National Film and Sound Archive, the National Archives of Australia, the ABC, SBS, and AIATSIS " -- Home, and about page.
Alexander Street’s BBC Video Collection combines 700 of our most-viewed BBC films. Viewers can explore relevant, timely documentaries on topics that span multiple subjects, such as history, anthropology, science, religion, health sciences, art, and more.
An online record of books and reviews reflecting nearly eight decades of H.W. Wilson's Book Review Digest. The database covers some 300,000 books and provides excerpts from and citations to reviews of adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction.
The material gathered here offers a unique insight into one of the most important and characteristic areas of socializing the young in early Soviet Russia, and a window into the mentality of the 'first Soviet generations' as well. Play was used, as methodological guides for nursery-school teachers indicate, in order to inculcate 'politically correct' attitudes.
from 1917 to the late 1930s. It includes books published in the provinces as well as in Moscow and Leningrad, and offers a spread of material covering different age groups, from pre-schoolers to pre-teens. Many of the items included are now extremely rare. The collection contains material on children's games and other leisure activities, the New Year and other holidays, theater, radio and cinema."--Publisher description.
Subset of KoreaA2Z. Digital Culture Art Course is based on VOD lectures presented by well-known [Korean] scholars and specialists. It contains 70 titles for 923 courses under 7 sub-categories for continuing education (Architecture, cartoon and animation, Literature, Culture, Art, Cinema, Music, Philosophy).--Database introduction page.
"... [a] unique collection of Russian film periodicals published during the last decade of the tsarist regime. The collection includes sophisticated, bimonthly periodicals as well as more popular weeklies released by the major Russian film studios. Containing, amongst others, interviews with movie stars and screenplays that are now irretrievably lost, these journals will prove an invaluable source of information for anyone interested in the silent movie era and Russia's entertainment industry at the eve of the Revolution."--Publisher description.
FIAF index to film periodicals database is a bibliographical index covering the foremost academic and popular film journals up to the present day. Some of these journals are available in full text. FIAF includes the following databases: International index to film periodicals (1972- ); International index to television periodicals (1979-1998); Treasures from the film archives; International directory of film and TV documentation collections; Bibliography of FIAF affiliates' publications; and the full text of five key reference works.
"Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text ... is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database will provide cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of 301), as well as full text for more than 90 journals and nearly 60 books."--database description (viewed July 9, 2009)
Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001. You can search the citations or browse by subject headings, browse by person names, browse by production titles, or browse by corporate names.
Film Platform is an innovative collaboration between some of the leading filmmakers and sales agents around the world to bring some of the finest documentary films to an academic audience. Its international selection of films introduces new concepts, exposes students to fresh perspectives, and enhances classroom discussions.
"Mass Culture & Entertainment in Russia comprises collections of extremely rare, and often unique, materials that offer a stunning insight into the dynamics of cultural and daily life in imperial and Soviet Russia. The series is organized along six thematic lines that together cover the full spectrum of nineteenth- and twentieth-century Russian culture, ranging from the penny press and high-brow art journals in pre-Revolutionary Russia, to children's magazines and publications on constructivist design in the early Soviet Union."--Publisher description.
The series is organized along six thematic lines that together cover the full spectrum of nineteenth- and twentieth-century Russian culture, ranging from the penny press and high-brow art journals in pre-Revolutionary Russia, to children's magazines and publications on constructivist design in the early Soviet Union."--Publisher description.
"Movieplayer.it is an online Italian magazine focused in cinema, TV series, home videos and television programs ... [It] is a web portal providing internet users with a huge database on cinema with movies, TV series, characters, DVD and Blu-Ray sheets, as well as continuos updates on everything related to current events and news of cinema and television world. In May 2012 Movieplayer.it collects more than "30,000 movie sheets", "2,000 TV series sheets", "80,000 articles", "20,000 news", "10,000 videos" and information on more than "300,000 characters" in cinema and television world. Since September 2009 Movieplayer.it is official partner of IMDb.it "New Desk", with the pledging to provide, in real-time, some extracts of all its publications - news, interviews, reviews and in-depth articles, which are visible both on the IMDb.it homepage, and in all movies, tv-series, news and characters sheets."--Knowmore.org.
In May 2012 Movieplayer.it collects more than "30,000 movie sheets", "2,000 TV series sheets", "80,000 articles", "20,000 news", "10,000 videos" and information on more than "300,000 characters" in cinema and television world. Since September 2009 Movieplayer.it is official partner of IMDb.it "New Desk", with the pledging to provide, in real-time, some extracts of all its publications - news, interviews, reviews and in-depth articles, which are visible both on the IMDb.it homepage, and in all movies, tv-series, news and characters sheets."--Knowmore.org.
Provides peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on film history, television studies, media studies, critical theory, visual arts, cultural studies, digital culture, game studies, popular culture, and the study of the moving image. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
" ... a unique collection of Russian theater and film periodicals, which also includes material on other forms of entertainment and mass culture in pre-revolutionary Russia. The collection consists of various types of material ranging from sophisticated journals to cheaply produced magazines published in the last three decades of the Tsarist regime. It covers all strata of urban society and their response to new and traditional art forms as theater and cinema."--Publisher description.
A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.
"Show Music on Record provides a reference list of recordings of songs from American shows (and of foreign shows that played in America) as performed by members of original, revival, and studio casts. Included are shows produced for the American stage, screen, and television, as well as foreign musical films that played in America. It also includes records of composers performing their own show songs and selected other recordings of related interest. ...
The recordings listed come from various commercial sound media, from cylinders to CDs and from the 1890s to 2010."--Front page of site.
"The archive contains materials providing information on the activities of the Soviet film company Sovkino and its relations with various other companies in the film industry, both in the Soviet Union and abroad, between 1923 and 1935."--Publisher description.;" ...
""The collection contains administrative, personnel and financial records, transcripts of meetings, statistical reports, documents related to film export, film import, and film production, reviews, film repertoire, etc. The list and contents of the documents in this collection is shaped by the fact that Soviet cinematography was the target of focused official policies. In the pipeline from the state to the film industry, the role of intermediary was assigned to a system of institutions charged with management functions.""--Scope and content."
"The collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film. These publications shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics. They also highlight the role of film in Soviet cultural life. ...
Film magazines and newspapers featured articles by leading Soviet directors (Lev Kuleshov, Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, Aleksandr Dovzhenko, Abram Room), as well as members of the avant-garde LEF, leading authors and philologists."--Publisher description.
Database of over 520 electronic books published by University of California Press. UC Press is among the six largest university presses in the United States. Key subject areas include: ...
Key subject areas include: Art and Architecture; Autobiographies and biographies; California and the West; Cinema and performing arts; Classical studies; Contemporary social issues; Cultural and ethnic studies; Food and wine; Health and medicine; History; Literary studies; Music; Philosophy; Poetry; Reference; Religion; Science and Social sciences.--IG Publishing.