"American Song is a history database that will contain 50,000 tracks that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database will include songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more."--About the database. Also includes the database, African American Song. This resource documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives. The database will contain (when complete) 50,000 audio tracks, including collections of recordings by the top fifty names in the history of black American music.
The database includes research studies and theses in music education, undertaken by Australians in Australia and overseas universities, as well as those by overseas researchers who are now resident in Australia.
Bloomsbury Popular Music is a unique source of scholarship and serious in-depth analysis of popular music in a global context. It provides unrivalled scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to the present day ... [and] offers access to a broad and expanding range of content, [including]: The 14-volume Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World (10 volumes available at launch); All 120+ volumes of the 33 1/3 book series, providing in-depth analysis of influential albums; An expanding range of scholarly books from Bloomsbury’s Popular Music Studies list: 20 titles are available at launch, and at least 5 more will be added each year; Titles in the new 33 1/3 Global book series, to be added from late 2017 onwards
Classical music library
Classical Music Library provides musical sound recordings and MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present. Users navigate through browse lists, a search engine and music track playlists.
Contains classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions. The major composers output is represented, as well as many lesser known composers and works. Content in the database includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series. The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions.
Contemporary world music
"Contemporary world music will contain 50,000 tracks that delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian global sound for libraries - it includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world"--About the database.
Searchable database containing streaming video files of dance productions and documentaries by influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. Videos can be browsed by people, role, ensemble, genre, and venue. Material types include documentaries, editorials, instructional, interviews, and performances. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.
Citation database of completed higher degree theses (PhDs), or doctoral dissertations, in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific and humanistic disciplines. Citations are arranged alphabetically by author within the following broad categories: general/miscellaneous, Antiquity, Middle Ages, Renaissance, Baroque, Classical, Romantic, and Twentieth century. The database is searchable by author and keywords.
A collection of over 1,500 CDs (9,800 compositions), sound recordings, documenting American music. It includes folk, opera, Native American, jazz, 19th century classical, early rock, musical theater, contemporary and electronic music. Works can be browsed by work, album or track titles, as well as by artist roles, and date of recording and composition. Some biographical and role information are provided for artists.
Includes the full text with ongoing updates of: The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians, 2nd ed. (London, 2001); The New Grove dictionary of opera (London, 1992); and, the New Grove dictionary of jazz, 2nd ed. (London, 2002). New articles and articles which have been updated since their appearance in print show a date in the upper right corner of the screen. Grove music online continues to grow with both newly commissioned material and more articles from other Grove dictionaries.
IIMP Full Text covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals ranging from International Journal of Music Education, Ethnomusicology, Jazz Education Journal and Musical Times to Rock and Rap Confidential and Rolling Stone. Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 440 international music periodicals, plus full text for 130 of the most important scholarly and popular musical journals.--Publisher description. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link: http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml
Articles examine the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 440 international music periodicals, plus full text for 130 of the most important scholarly and popular musical journals.--Publisher description.
Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.
"Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 79,820 CDs with more than 1,146,900 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented. The contents can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 11 combined search criteria. In addition to allowing subscribers to listen to recordings, NML provides liner notes for most recordings. Listeners can create personalized playlists or use predefined Naxos Music Library playlists."--About.
Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.;"The contents can be searched by composer, work, genre and label; by keyword search and by a sophisticated advanced search engine with up to 11 combined search criteria. In addition to allowing subscribers to listen to recordings, NML provides liner notes for most recordings. Listeners can create personalized playlists or use predefined Naxos Music Library playlists.""--About."
Naxos Music Library Jazz, offers over 65,000 tracks of jazz from more than 6,000 albums. Over 12,000 jazz artists are represented. Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises the catalogues of Blue Notes Records, 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz and over 150 other labels. US-based Fantasy has the world's deepest jazz catalogue and offers the very best in blues and R&B. Blue Note offers albums featuring the legendary artist John Coltrane and iconic artists such as Herbie Hancock, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter and many others.--FAQ (description current to Feb. 2012). Note: Access restrictited to 5 concurrent users only.
Please remember to "Log-Out"
Blue Note offers albums featuring the legendary artist John Coltrane and iconic artists such as Herbie Hancock, Dexter Gordon, Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter and many others.--FAQ (description current to Feb. 2012).
Opera in Video presents a collection of streaming video performances of the most commonly studied operas and covers the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century. Selections represent the world's best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work's importance in the world of opera.
RILM includes over 620,000 records; over 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more. Subject coverage: musicology and ethnomusicology, theory, analysis and composition, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, librarianship, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, aesthetics, criticism, music therapy, iconography, historical musicology.
"Subject coverage: musicology and ethnomusicology, theory, analysis and composition, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, librarianship, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, aesthetics, criticism, music therapy, iconography, historical musicology."
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. Global Sound will offer audio and video downloads, streaming media, educational resources, and detailed liner notes. Also, various musical collections will be available for purchase and immediate download. Users may browse by country, genre, cultural group, language, instrument, artist, ensemble, album, label, or category, such as American Folk, American Indian, Jazz, Spoken word and sounds, and Children's or conduct an advanced search.
Australian Education Index (AEI), produced by the Cunningham Library at the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER), is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts documents from printed and electronic sources at all levels of education and related fields. Source documents include journal articles, monographs, research reports, theses, conference papers, legislation, parliamentary debates, newspaper articles, tests and web. Articles and reports by Australian authors or about Australian education published in overseas sources are also included. Subject coverage includes curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training.
This portal provides access to many of Monash University library's Alexander Street Press collections on a single cross-searchable platform. Video, audio, and text covering a wide variety of subject matters are included. In addition to contemporary sources, this database contains significant amounts of primary sources. Users can also select to search a single collection by using the dropdown menu at the top of the homepage. Additional tools let users make custom clips, create playlists, see synchronized scrolling transcripts, share clips and playlists, view and copy clips and playlists already created, see a visual table of contents of the video for easy navigation, and other tools.
Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. Inclusive coverage from 1978 to present.
Artfilms-Digital is the video streaming service of Contemporary Arts Media. Contemporary Arts Media was founded in 2000 ... In 2004 CAM extended its range of films across all art forms: from performing to performance, from music to electronic media, from physical to spiritual, from visual arts to photography, fashion and later included philosophy and religion, gastronomy, history and politics and psychology. Today CAM offers more than 4000 films for arts education and arts practitioners. Monash University Library subscribes to approximately 300 of these titles in streaming video format. Each title is catalogued separately, and is hyperlinked in Search.
Monash University Library subscribes to approximately 300 of these titles in streaming video format. Each title is catalogued separately, and is hyperlinked in Search.
Arts & Humanities Citation Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Arts Hub is the online home for Australian arts workers. It presents the accepted industry standard for employment opportunities, and Australia's only arts industry news service. It began as a free jobs email service in April 2000, and has since evolved into a website carrying news feeds, interviews with leading arts managers, events news and other information relevant to people working in the arts industry.
British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, are sourced from the British Library and other institutions. Curation is by experts in British arts history. Covers more than a century, and encompasses both the Georgian and Victorian theatre ... The collection provides a detailed look at the state of the British art[s] world and includes manuscripts and musical compositions as well as documents such as personal letters, annotated programs, meeting minutes, and financial records. It offers scholars an unmatched glimpse into the inner workings of the world of the arts in Britain.--About.
the day-to-day accounting of the activities the expansion of trade, and the exercise of extraterritorial rights and treaty provisions. In addition, a selection of missionary correspondence and journals has been included, as missionaries usually provided some of the earliest contact in various Asian locales with Western ideals.
Directory contains detailed information on Asia-related databases and search services which are accessible from Australia. Primary focus is research, the social sciences and humanities, and the smaller less commercial databases that are being developed in the Asia-Pacific region. Asia as defined here, includes the Indian subcontinent, East Asia, and South East Asia. Coverage to Sep. 2001.
The Australian Jazz Real Book is the definitive collection of the best Australian jazz tunes. Features over 400 sheets of Australian jazz tunes from Australian composers, artist biographies and some streaming audio clips. Digitally curated by Tim Nikolsky. "The 450+ tunes which are included are categorised into 17 styles, with the number in each category shown in brackets: Swing (154), Straight (119), Ballad (48), Latin (43), Traditional (19), Funk (19) Rubato (10) Blues (10) Fusion (9) Bossa Nova (7) Shuffle (5) Rock (4) Afro-Cuban (3), Bebop (3), Country (2), Free (1) and Choro (1). The lead sheets contain the melody in regular musical notation, chords and, where they exist, lyrics. There are also some more involved transcriptions where appropriate, and a few full score reductions where each instrumental part is important, and harmony parts and voicings are included."--Jazz Ramble website, viewed May 20, 2013.
(7) Shuffle (5) Rock (4) Afro-Cuban (3), Bebop (3), Country (2), Free (1) and Choro (1). The lead sheets contain the melody in regular musical notation, chords and, where they exist, lyrics. There are also some more involved transcriptions where appropriate, and a few full score reductions where each instrumental part is important, and harmony parts and voicings are included.""--Jazz Ramble website, viewed May 20, 2013."
Cambridge companions online offers subject or theme based access to cross-searchable ebook collections, including Cambridge companions complete collection with its three sub-collections: Cambridge companions to literature and classics, Cambridge companions to philosophy, religion and culture, and Cambrige companions to music. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication.
Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness Web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals (over 8,000 of the world's leading scholarly journals and more than 2,000 books) Coverage includes complete bibliographic information from articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and other significant published materials. [It] also allows you to search a premium collection of evaluated scholarly Web sites and access evaluated, full-text Web documents in three general resource types: preprints, funding information, and research activities. Current Contents Connect is published in seven editions and two collections. Monash University Library users have access to all of these.
Subset of KoreaA2Z. Digital Culture Art Course is based on VOD lectures presented by well-known [Korean] scholars and specialists. It contains 70 titles for 923 courses under 7 sub-categories for continuing education (Architecture, cartoon and animation, Literature, Culture, Art, Cinema, Music, Philosophy).--Database introduction page.
This database gives full text reproduction access to the works (over 125,000 titles) listed in: Pollard & Redgrave, Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) ; Wing, Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) ; and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). The works in this collection are presented as images, which may be viewed online, or downloaded in PDF format.
Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system. Updated three to four times a year with new and revised articles, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music is also entirely cross-searchable with Grove Music Online through the Oxford Music Online gateway.
"Updated three to four times a year with new and revised articles, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music is also entirely cross-searchable with Grove Music Online through the Oxford Music Online gateway."
This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts published and unpublished literature in the field of education. Source documents include journal articles, conference papers, government documents, theses, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, and books. Major areas of subject coverage include: adult, career, and vocational education; counseling and personnel services; elementary and early childhood education; education management; handicapped and gifted children; higher education; information resources; junior colleges; languages and linguistics; reading and communication skills; rural education and small schools; science; mathematics; environmental education; social studies and social science education; teacher education; tests, measurement and evaluation; and, urban education. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link: http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml
Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities. Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute (bfi) it is based on the Summary of Film and Television (SIFT) database collated by the bfi over the past 70 years. It provides in-depth indexing of over 121,600 films - from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters - and biographical information for more than 737,000 personalities. The database also includes coverage of international film awards and prizes as well as searchable plot summaries and full cast and crew lists.
The Garland encyclopedia of world music online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Contains the full text of the 10 volume print encyclopedia (originally published in 1997), which is searchable all together for the first time.
"Humanities index retrospective, 1907-1984 indexes nearly 800 humanities-related periodicals and provides access to over 1,000,000 articles, including citations of over 155,000 books reviews. Topics covered include classical studies, literary & social criticism, philosophy, religion & theology, literature, art, dance, film, folklore, music, performing arts, area studies, communications, gender studies, history, journalism, linguistics, archaeology, and much more."--Publisher.
Jazz music library
azz Music Library is a collection of jazz recordings which covers thousands of artists, ensembles, albums, and genres, from all over the world, from the beginnings of jazz to today. It's an essential resource for the study and teaching of jazz history, performance, theory, or appreciation.
This bibliographic database indexes the international literature in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts (including theatre, film, music and media culture). It contains more than 2 million records. The classified listing and subject index are compiled by the staff of the Modern Language Association Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. The Bibliography first appeared in 1926, as a section within the journal PMLA, and became a separate publication in 1969. The electronic version first appeared in the late 1970s, and for a long time only covered volumes from 1963 onwards; as of April 2006, the entire print run is included, from 1926 to the present.
MusicAustralia aim is to develop a web-based music service that will provide integrated access to Australian music resources and information. It is being developed and delivered as a collaboration between the National Library of Australia, ScreenSound Australia, the national screen and sound archive, and other national cultural institutions and the wider Australian music community. Music in all its formats, across styles and genres and, both heritage and contemporary material, is included. Currently, it provides access to more than 170 items of digitised music material, including published music, manuscript scores, audio recordings, multimedia presentations and other music resources which are available online. The service also has features that allow users to view or listen to music items one at a time, to listen to several music items one after another, or to view and listen to music simultaneously. Future developments include scoping and developing a directory structure to include pe
Music in all its formats, across styles and genres and, both heritage and contemporary material, is included.;"Currently, it provides access to more than 170 items of digitised music material, including published music, manuscript scores, audio recordings, multimedia presentations and other music resources which are available online. The service also has features that allow users to view or listen to music items one at a time, to listen to several music items one after another, or to view and listen to music simultaneously.";"Future developments include scoping and developing a directory structure to include people, organisations and events linked to Australian music."
Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century is a collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. Over 200,000 pages of material will be available for research on the Alexander Street multimedia platform – the only resource that allows users to cross-search the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts ...
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on musicology and ethnomusicology. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. Contains a "My OBO" function that allows users to create personalized bibliographies of individual citations from different bibliographies.
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. It is the product of research instituted at the University of Oxford and funded by the British Academy and by Oxford University Press. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included; the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2003.
No living person is included; the Dictionary's articles are confined to people who died before 31 December 2003.
Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. The Oxford Handbooks are one of the most successful and cited series within scholarly publishing, containing in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Monash University Library currently subscribes to the collections of: 1. Law and 2. Music.
Monash University Library currently (as of Dec. 2014) subscribes to the following collections of: 1. Archaeology (2014); 2. Business and management (2013, 2014); 3. Classical Studies (2014); 4. Criminology, (2013, 2014); 5. Economics and finance (2014); 6. History (2014); 7. Law (pre 2012, 2012, 2013 and 2014); 8. Linguistics (2014); 9. Literature (2014); 10. Music (pre 2012, 2014); 11. Philosophy (2014); 12. Political science (2014); 13. Psychology (2014); 14. Religion (2014).
Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location.
Index to scholarly journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences, including some published as far back as 1770. Includes periodicals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. Provides links to scanned articles, in PDF format.
"The colorful cheap stories and songbooks that flooded Russia during the last half century of the old regime exemplify the richness of the Russian popular imagination. The literature of the lubok, named for the prints that circulated in the same milieu, was a ubiquitous expression of popular taste. ...
The collection illustrates the chief genres of Russian popular literature and includes chivalric tales, historical fiction and updated fairy tales, as well as stories of adventure, banditry, detectives, success, war and empire, women and gender. The collection also includes rags-to-riches tales of social mobility, adventures set in Siberia and the Caucasus, and the stories of the occult world of wizards and sorceresses. Taken together, these lively texts illustrate changing stereotypes of gender, ethnicity, and social class. Their authors also invoke historical memory, celebrating notable personages and eras of interest to their readers. From popular songs to fairy tales and war stories, the collection follows the evolution of the Russian language in its popular commercial print form, an evolution that the Bolsheviks interrupted, but one that has now resumed.;"Among the remarkable titles is the complete text of Russia's first truly popular novel, N. I. Pastukhov's Bandit Churkin (1883-84), which counted Anton Chekhov among its thousands of readers. Here too are original and later versions of the classic early nineteenth-century chivalric tales, such as the adventures of Bova Korolevich, a story noted by Belinsky, Tolstoy, and Dostoevsky. The collection also includes tales about Peter the Great and Ivan the Terrible, the Cossack rebels Sten'ka Razin and Pugachev, and heroes of the Russo-Turkish War of 1877-78, the War with Japan, and World War I ... The collection features popular versions of well-known folktales such as The Story of Ivan the Tsar's Son, the Grey Wolf, and the Firebird, made famous by Stravinsky. Songbooks, with titles such as The Stoker (1915), Marusia Loved Her Friend (1910), and Marusia Poisoned Herself (1915) typify the changing oral culture in which printed texts became the standard for popular songs.""--Background information page."
PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format ...The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
Full Text Included
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses."--ProQuest.
ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database offers complete text and images from journals such as: Childhood Education, College Teaching, Harvard Educational Review, Journal of Athletic Training, and Educational Theory. ProQuest Education Journals covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.--Publisher product description. Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link: http://il.proquest.com/il-cookie.shtml
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier. On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.
An index to more than eighty historical music periodicals in thirteen languages, published primarily in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. ("RIPM" is the acronym for "Re¿¿pertoire international de la presse musicale.")
In 1928 Robert Winslow Gordon became the first archivist of the Archive of American Folk Song (now the Archive of Folk Culture) in the Library of Congress. He was a pioneer in using mechanical means to document folk musicians, and his cylinders and discs in the Library of Congress form part of his legacy. The collection of Gordon manuscripts contained here, primarily from 1922 to 1932, offers researchers online access to the daily workings of an important twentieth-century American folklorist ...
"Show Music on Record provides a reference list of recordings of songs from American shows (and of foreign shows that played in America) as performed by members of original, revival, and studio casts. Included are shows produced for the American stage, screen, and television, as well as foreign musical films that played in America. It also includes records of composers performing their own show songs and selected other recordings of related interest. The recordings listed come from various commercial sound media, from cylinders to CDs and from the 1890s to 2010."--Front page of site.
The recordings listed come from various commercial sound media, from cylinders to CDs and from the 1890s to 2010."--Front page of site.
Database of over 520 electronic books published by University of California Press. UC Press is among the six largest university presses in the United States. Key subject areas include: ...
Key subject areas include: Art and Architecture; Autobiographies and biographies; California and the West; Cinema and performing arts; Classical studies; Contemporary social issues; Cultural and ethnic studies; Food and wine; Health and medicine; History; Literary studies; Music; Philosophy; Poetry; Reference; Religion; Science and Social sciences.--IG Publishing.