Census TableBuilder is an online tool which allows you to create your own tables of Census data by accessing all variables contained in the Census Output Record File including age, education, housing, income, transport, religion, ethnicity, occupation, family composition and more for all ABS geographic areas. TableBuilder allows you to select the variables to include in your table, and how you want to structure the data. You are required to register to use this product which is freely accessible to Monash University students and staff. It requires skills in building tables and working with Census Data. Registration information: http://www.monash.edu.au/researchoffice/datasets/ For other Census products go to: http://www.abs.gov.au/websitedbs/D3310114.nsf/home/Census+data.
Provides expanded, up-to-date coverage of demographic topics both in the core field and in neighboring disciplines. Designed to encompass the large-scale changes in emphasis and research directions in population studies during the last 20 years, topics covered include: rapid demographic expansion in poor countries; low fertility rates and problems of old-age support; the environmental impact of a dense population; the press for expanded reproductive rights; and much more.
Gale virtual reference library is a database of full text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Access is provided to titles which the library has purchased. All books can be searched simultaneously or individually. Searches can also be limited to specific subject areas.
Searchable database of statistical information on the geography, economy, population, and social indicators of the member states of the United Nations, drawn from the United Nations World Statistics Pocketbook, its Statistical Yearbook, and other sources. Up to seven countries and four statistical data elements may be included in one search.
This dataset contains information from tables of demographic, economic and social data for the countries of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided . Information presented includes population, health, nutrition, morality, fertility, family planning and contraceptive use, literacy, housing, and economic activity data. Tabular data are broken down by such variables as age, sex and urban/rural residence.
Database provides population and economic statistics on various countries and generates graphs from the statistical data. Includes country profiles covering geography, military, economics, international relations. "As described on the site, "NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD" and a "handy way to graphically compare nations." By using the available forms, the user "can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics." This site aims "to be the web's one-stop resource for country statistics on anything and everything, whether it be soldiers, Olympic medals, tourists, English speakers or wall plug voltages." "Integrated into these is a full encyclopedia with over 200,000 articles."
By using the available forms, the user ""can generate maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics."" This site aims ""to be the web's one-stop resource for country statistics on anything and everything, whether it be soldiers, Olympic medals, tourists, English speakers or wall plug voltages."" ""Integrated into these is a full encyclopedia with over 200,000 articles."""
Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included.
Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as Urban Affairs Review, Urban Studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. The full archive of this index has been digitized, bringing coverage back to 1973. Links to full text sources are available when Monash University Library holds a subscription.