Books vs eBooks
What is the difference between using a book or using ebooks for my assignment?
Answer: None! One is online, and the other is in your hand, but they're both great academic sources. Print books have Call Numbers to organise them on the shelf. You can the call number in the Details tab when using Search. Staff at the Information Point can help with any questions.
Just like Print books, ebooks are academic sources, and great to use for your assignments and study. What you find on the shelves and what you find on the View It tab in Search are both books, you just read them in a different way.
Monash University Library has over one million ebooks, so you're likely to see a lot of them when you use Search.
Monash Library online ebooks and databases can be accessed from anywhere using your Monash login, but you will find Theater and Performance Studies print books at the Matheson Library, & Caulfield Library
Call numbers
The Monash libraries use the Dewey decimal classification scheme to organise books and journals. The most efficient way to locate material in the library is to search the library catalogue, however the following may be useful as a guide when browsing the shelves.
Drama
| 808.82 | Drama - literature |
| 809.2 | Drama - history and criticism |
| 812 | American drama |
| 822 | English drama |
| 822.1 - 822.2 | Medieval |
| 822.3 | Renaissance |
| 822.33 | William Shakespeare |
| 822.4 | 17th Century |
| 822.5 | 18th Century early |
| 822.6 | 18th Century late |
| 822.8 | 19th Century |
| A820.082 | Australian drama |
| 832 | German drama |
| 842 | French drama |
| 852 | Italian drama |
| 862 | Spanish drama |
| 872 | Latin dramatic poetry & drama |
| 882 | Classical Greek dramatic poetry & drama |
Research Methods
Research Methods in Theatre and Performance by Call Number: Online and printPublication Date: 2011How have theatre and performance research methods and methodologies engaged the expanding diversity of performing arts practices? How can students best combine performance/theatre research approaches in their projects? This book's 29 contributors provide hands-on answers to suchquestions.
Applied Practice by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2017Engaging with a diversity of contexts, locations and arts forms - including theatre, music and fine art, and bringing together theoretical, political and practice-based perspectives on the question of 'evidence' in relation to participatory arts practice in social contexts, this collection is a unique contribution to the field, focusing on one of the vital concerns for a growing and developing set of arts and research practices. It asks us to consider evidence not only in terms of methodology but also in the light of the ideological, political and pragmatic implications of that methodology.
Method Meets Art, 2nd Edition by Call Number: Online and printPublication Date: 2015A highly accessible introduction to arts-based research (ABR), this widely used text provides a practical guide for researchers who want to uncover information that traditional methods cannot capture. Patricia Leavy addresses all eight major ABR genres--narrative inquiry, fiction-based research, poetry, music, dance, theatre, film, and visual art. Following a consistent format, chapters review how each genre developed, explore its methodological variations and the kind of research questions it can address, and describe sample studies. An exemplary research article or online video link demonstrates each set of techniques in practice.
Blood, Sweat and Theory by Call Number: Online and printPublication Date: 2009As a major contribution to the field of postgraduate activity in drama, theater, and performance, this resource identifies the essential characteristics of practice-based research across a range of countries, contexts, forms, and applications. A vital theory-based guide to such study, topics include locating practice-based research within historical, aesthetic, and educational settings; challenging received ideas of dramatic practice as thesis; distinguishing research from reflection and feelings from findings; and pushing practice-based research into new areas of critical inquiry. The reference includes extensively written case studies of projects from Hala Al-Yamani, Annette Arlander, Robert Germay, Helka-Maria Kinnunen, Felix Nobis, Allan Owens, Helen Paris, Yoni Prior, and Leena Rouhiainen.
For Creative Geographies: geography, visual arts and the making of worlds by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2013This book provides the first sustained critical exploration, and celebration, of the relationship between Geography and the contemporary Visual Arts. With the growth of research in the Geohumanities and the Spatial Humanities, there is an imperative to extend and deepen considerations of the form and import of geography-art relations. Such reflections are increasingly important as geography-art intersections come to encompass not only relationships built through interpretation, but also those built through shared practices, wherein geographers work as and with artists, curators and other creative practitioners. Organized into three analytic sections, the volume explores the role of art in the making of geographical knowledge; the growth of geographical perspectives as art world analytics; and shared explorations of the territory of the body.
Ethnographic Methods 2nd edition by Call Number: Online and printPublication Date: 2012Using a wide range of case studies and source material to illustrate the dilemmas and resolutions that an ethnographic researcher may encounter, O'Reilly guides the reader from the initial design and planning stages through to the analysis and writing-up. After exploring the historical and philosophical foundations of ethnographic research, a range of relevant topics such as participant observation, qualitative interviews, (focus) group interviews and visual data collection and analysis are covered. The second edition includes new discussions of emerging practices such as reflexive ethnography and autoethnographic accounts, as well as an entire chapter dedicated to new directions in the field - including virtual, mobile, multi-sited and global ethnography.
Recent Books Online
Meisner and mindfulness: Authentic and Truthful Solutions for the Challenges of Modern Acting by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2022This book reveals how Meisner and mindfulness can be united to navigate the challenges of the digital age and offers solutions to the demands of a post-coronavirus industry. There is also access to additional resources that incorporate Meisner exercises into training sessions.
Dramatherapy: the nature of interruption by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2021This book investigates the nature and phenomena of interruption in ways that have relevance for contemporary dramatherapy practice. It features new and international voices from Greek shadow puppetry to the Japanese horticultural practice of Shakkei.
Performance Phenomenology: To the Thing Itself by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 2019This collection of essays addresses emergent trends in the meeting of the disciplines of phenomenology and performance. It brings together major scholars in the field, dealing with phenomenological approaches to dance, theatre, performance, embodiment, audience, and everyday performance of self. It argues that despite the wide variety of philosophical, ontological, epistemological, historical and methodological differences across the field of phenomenology, certain tendencies and impulses are required for an investigation to stand as truly phenomenological. These include: description of experience; a move towards fundamental conditions or underlying essences; and an examination of taken-for-granted presuppositions. The book is aimed at scholars and practitioners of performance looking to deepen their understanding of phenomenological concepts and methods, and philosophers concerned with issues of embodiment, performativity and enaction.
Actresses and Mental Illness by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019Actresses and Mental Illness investigates the relationship between the work of the actress and her personal experience of mental illness, from the late nineteenth through to the end of the twentieth century. Detailed case studies of both well-known and neglected figures in theatre and film history show how mental illness “actual or supposed” has impacted on actresses’ performances, careers and celebrity. The book underscores how the actress can be perceived as a representative public woman, acting as a lens through which we can examine broader attitudes to women and mental illness.
Critical Autoethnography, Performance, and Pedagogy by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2018This book addresses and demonstrates the importance of critical approaches to autoethnography, particularly the commitment that such approaches make to theorizing the personal and to creating work that embodies a social justice ethos. Arts-based and practice-led approaches to this work allow the explanatory power of critical theory to be linked with creative, aesthetically engaging, and personal examples of the ideas at work. By making use of personal stories, critical autoethnography also allows for commenting on, critiquing, and transforming damaging and unjust cultural beliefs and practices by questioning and problematizing the relationships of power that are bound up in these selves, cultures and practices.
Queering Autoethnography by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2019Queering Autoethnography articulates for the first time the possibilities and politics of queering autoethnography, both in theoretical terms and as an intervention into narratives and cultures of apology, shame and fear. The political and scholarly potential of autoethnography is expanding, particularly in its potential to evoke empathic and affective responses at a time of public numbness. Its original theoretical contributions include concepts such as massacre culture, queer terror, mundane annihilations, and activist affect. The authors write these ideas in action, joining theory and story as a contact zone for analysis, critique and change.
Shakespeare: Actors and Audiences by Publication Date: 2018his book places the role of the audience at the centre of how we understand Shakespeare in performance. It shines a spotlight on the relationship between actors and audiences and explores the interplay that makes each performance unique. Part One offers an overview of the best current audience research and provides a critical framework for the interviews and testimony of leading actors, theatre makers and audience members that follow in Part Two
Performance: a Critical Introduction 3rd Edition by Publication Date: 2017An unparalleled exploration of the myriad ways in which performance has been interpreted, its importance to disciplines from anthropology to linguistics, and how it underpins essential concepts of human society. Carlson tackles the pressing themes and theories of our age, with expanded coverage of : the growth and importance of racial and ethnic performance; the emergence of performance concerned with age and disability; the popularity and significance of participatory and immersive theatre; the crucial relevance of identity politics and cultural performance in the twenty-first century.
A Theatre Laboratory Approach to Pedagogy and Creativity by Publication Date: 2017This book considers the pedagogy of the theatre laboratory, focusing on seminal theatre group Odin Teatret. It provides a detailed discussion of the historical background to theatre laboratories, including their conception, before moving on to specific examples of how the work at Odin Teatret crosscuts creativity, pedagogy, and research practices. The book draws on a range of insightful sources, including historical readings and previous literature, interviews with members of the theatre group, autoethnographic pieces, and personal experiences.
Shakespeare in the Theatre: Trevor Nunn by Publication Date: 2018Sir Trevor Nunn is one of the most versatile and accomplished directors in the English-speaking theatre and this book examines his achievements as a director of Shakespeare within the wider context of debates on the cultural politics of Britain's theatrical institutions in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
