Skip to content

Theatre and Performance studies: Theses

Selected resources for drama and theatre studies

Finding theses

Finding theses in Search

To find a specific thesis in Search, type your subject (or author / keywords, etc) followed by thesis (if it is a Monash thesis you are looking for, include the word "monash").

Search databases

Trove includes doctoral, masters and some honours theses from all Australian and New Zealand universities and others higher degree institutions. Trove also includes theses awarded elsewhere but held by Australian instititions. To search for theses use the Advanced search and either include "thesis" as a keyword or limit your result to format = thesis.

ProQuest dissertations
Covers mainly North American theses, although a small number of theses from other countries are also included. Covers theses from 1861 to present. Abstracts are included for all theses since 1980. Abstracts from prior years are only available in the paper version Dissertation Abstracts International (subscription is no longer current).

Ethos : Beta; Electronic theses online system makes UK theses (electronic and paper based) available by harvesting e-theses from institutional repositories and digitising paper theses on-demand from researchers. Please note that this database is still in its early stages of development.

Index to theses in Great Britain and Ireland
Published since 1950. Covers only higher degree theses, which are arranged in classified order with author and subject indexes. The subject index refers to keywords from the title, and occasionally from the thesis abstract. Abstracts are included for all theses since 1986. An electronic version with coverage from 1970 is available via the Library Databases page.

NDLTD (Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations)
Centre of a worldwide project to make more theses available electronically. Contains links to a number of sites that make theses available, some of which are free.

THESES : NUS theses collection
Bibliographic database of items from published and unpublished material (including theses) relating to Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei and ASEAN (as an entity)

History On-Line
Lists theses in History completed in UK each year. Paper copies from 1960-present are listed in the library catalogue under the title Historical Research for Higher Degrees in the United Kingdom.

Click here for a more comprehensive list of theses databases

Theses in the ARROW repository

The ARROW repository contains a large number of PhD theses in full-text online. In the Publications column, scroll down to Theses.

Honours theses

Honours theses are not held in the library. To access Honours theses enquire at the relevant University department.