Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Urban Planning and Design

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is a subset of Google which searches specifically for scholarly material on the web. 

It locates journal articles, theses and dissertations, books, conference papers and other research material from a variety of sources including academic publishers, professional societies, institutional repositories and databases.

Its coverage is strongest in science, technology and medicine.

Strengths:

  • Useful when searching "Grey Literature" such as conference proceedings
  • Enables interdisciplinary searches
  • Accesses multiples types of documents (articles, books, conference proceedings)
  • Helps identify who is publishing in particular areas of research
  • Results are ranked by relevancy

Be aware that:

  • Content is not always equivalent to the scholarly or peer-reviewed content in databases
  • Difficult to perform a specific search with precise results
  • Gaps in coverage - a lot of information is not freely available on the web
  • Citations can be incomplete, and can only be exported one at a time

    Full text linking

    Google Scholar allows you to set Google Scholar preferences to link to the full text of articles cited in Google Scholar which are available from Monash University Library. Follow these steps to ensure full text links show in your search results

    On Campus access
    When you search on campus, Google Scholar will automatically recognise your location, and display the Check for full text link to library materials

    Off Campus access
    If you are off campus you will need to tell Google to link to resources available from Monash University Library. Choose one of the following options to access these full text links:

    Option 1:
    Always connect to Google Scholar  from the library's databases page

    Option 2:

    • Go to Google Scholar and click the Scholar Preferences link
    • Search for Monash in the Library Links search box
    • Tick the checkbox for Monash University - Check for full text
    • Click Save Preferences

    Search results display

    • Check for full text link next to a title shows that the full text is available electronically.
    • Check for full text link below a record (and its details) show that the full text may not be available electronically. Use this link to check the Monash University Library catalogue for electronic access or a print copy

    Acknowledgement: content above derived from Multisearch Check for full text links in Google Scholar help