Databases for Anthropology
Along with books and ebooks, the resources you find in Monash University Library's databases are the best and most reliable resources for your assessments.
These are some of the best databases to use for Anthropology.
Remember: You will need to search in more than one database to find a wide variety of resources to reference - not every database covers the same material. Find multiple sources to support your statements.
Use these large databases to find articles in Anthropology and many other related subject areas.
Keen for more Anthropology multimedia?
Journals publish the top researchers in your field, and contain the most up-to-date academic information. There are thousands of journals in the Library's collections.
Here are a selection of some of the Anthropology journals we hold.
Browse all of our online journals:
Social Sciences journals:
For more Anthropology Journals, see:
Australasia-specific Anthropology journals:
For more journals around Australasian topics, see:
Google Scholar at Monash
Google Scholar is another way of searching some of the Monash University Library databases to find journal articles.
If you use the Monash link below to access Google Scholar, you'll be able to use the Check for full text and similar links to go straight to many of the articles contained in the Monash University Library databases.
Note: Do not click an article's title, only the links to the right.
Pros of Google Scholar
Cons of Google Scholar
Grey literature is a large category, broadly defined as material not published by traditional book or journal publishers, from government documents to conference proceedings to maps, statistical surveys, and theses and dissertations.
Open Access resources
Open Access materials are free for all to use online. They can be anything from peer-reviewed journal articles and books to theses, conference papers, and more.
More information on Open Access:
Tips for using Google Scholar
Learn how to better use Google Scholar, from detailed searching to the famous Google Cheat Sheet.
Did you know?
Your Google Scholar Profile
Setting up and maintaining your Google Scholar profile as a researcher enables your published and Open Access work to be easily available to all researchers using Google Scholar. Sign up via the Google Scholar Citations link below.
Why set up a Google Scholar Profile?
It allows you to:
and most importantly,