Government Publications 
Government or Official Publications are the publications, documents and other information resources issued by official governmental bodies.
Contact Us
|
Subject Librarian for Government Publications.
Law Library Manager for law related questions.
|
|
Related Guides from Monash University Library: |
All icons and images in this Guide are either © Monash University or in the Public Domain.
Content of this Guide
|
This guide links you to government publications from: Australian Bureau Statistics
|
Finding Online Resources
Monash Library Databases for Government Publications
Here are some databases that Monash Library has subscribed to:
- Lawlex from SAI GlobalA portal to laws from all Australian jurisdictions. It provides access to full text Australian legislation, with associated Bill tracking, amendment and commencement information and links to related material, such as Second Reading speeches and Explanatory Memoranda.
- LawOne (TimeBase)Access to full text Australian legislation across all nine jurisdictions, including amending, subordinate and repealed legislation, Bills, Explanatory Memoranda and Second Reading Speeches along with detailed legislative histories.
- Federal Bills Monitor from LexisNexis AUIncludes links to full-text Federal Bills, Federal Bill summaries, EMs and 2nd Reading Speeches.
- Capital Monitor from LexisNexis AUIncludes links to full-text Bills, Bill summaries, EMs and 2nd Reading Speeches.
External Databases and Websites Relating to Government Publications
Nearly all Australian Government publications are now published online and can be found using Google and other web search engines, so this is recommended as the key starting point for finding Government Publications. Try these resources if web search engines have not been helpful and contact the Library if you are still unable to find a Government document.
Finding Hardcopy of Australian Government Publications
|
Many hardcopy historical government publications can be found in the Monash University Library collections. Often these are not catalogued individually, but many can be found using Library Search. For more information, please email the librarians from the "Contact Us" section of this guide. 
|
Data & Statistics
Looking for Australian Data and Statistics?
- Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS)The ABS is Australia’s national statistical agency, providing trusted official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters of importance to Australia.
- Data.gov.auData.gov.au provides an easy way to find, access and reuse public data.
- Australian Data Archive (ADA)The Australian Data Archive (ADA) provides a national service for the collection and preservation of digital research data and to make these data available for secondary analysis by academic researchers and other users.
- Historical Census and Colonial Data Archive (HCCDA)The Historical Census and Colonial Data Archive (HCCDA) is a searchable archive of Australian Colonial census publications and reports