Skip to main content

Business and Economics: Journal and news databases

For students undertaking Accounting, Banking & Finance, Business, Law & Taxation, Economics, Econometrics & Business Statistics, Management and Marketing at Monash University

Introduction

Articles from both academic and non-academic journals and news publications are key sources of evidence needed to respond to all forms of business and economics assignments and research topics.

Journal and news databases are large collections of journal and/or news sources, allowing a search on a particular topic to cover many thousands of journal and/or news sources at one time. Some databases include both journal and news articles. e.g. Proquest and Business Source Complete.

For expert advice on effective information research for assignments and research projects go to Finding and evaluating information.

Accessing journal and news articles

Academic journals

Academic  journal articles are the primary means by which academics communicate their ongoing research and development of theory to others in their discipline, and thereby advance the knowledge in that field. To be accepted for publication in an academic journal, an article must typically satisfy a peer review process, in which other experts in that discipline (peers) assess the quality of the submitted manuscript and the reported research, and its contribution to the discipline.

As students, academic essays must necessarily reflect the relevant theory and research presented in the academic literature, so effectively searching for, evaluating and using academic journal articles in your assignments are  key skills.

Academic journals/articles may also be referred to as scholarly journals/articles and an alternative term to peer review(ed) is “refereed”, as in refereed journal or refereed article.

Try this short tutorial on the key features of an academic journal article and how to read them effectively.

 

Non-academic journals

Non-academic journals can provide current business and economic news and practical examples that relate to the theory and research discussed in the academic literature.

In contrast to academic journals, they are journalistic in style, do not include references, and often contain images and advertising. Non-academic journal articles are typically short (1-3 pages). The following links are to examples of each main type of publication:

Business and economic magazines and newspapers

Trade or industry magazines report on a particular industry or business sector

Professional magazines communicate news, practical advice and cover issues relevant to professionals in that field

Non-academic articles are classified as Magazines or Trade Publications in the Business Source Complete database and Magazines or Trade Journals in the ProQuest database.

If you are unsure whether a particular journal is peer-reviewed/refereed, check the database,

or ask the Library.

  • Searching the Factiva news database tutorial
  • Accessibility document for searching the Factiva news databases tutorial (DOC 498 KB)

Academic journal articles include a review of relevant academic literature, as well as references to other works used to support the arguments being expressed. Often links to an article's references are provided in the article database record, or in the online article itself, making it easy to access the full text of a reference.

Otherwise, to obtain an article from the citation details (e.g. found in the reference list):

  1. Go to Search.
  2. Click Journals, enter the journal or news source title (not the article title) in quotation marks e.g. “journal of management”, and click Go.
  3. From the retrieved record, access the online version, where available, and drill down to the relevant volume and issue.