Skip to Main Content

Business and Economics: MGF1010 Sem. 2 2021 (Caulfield)

For students undertaking Accounting, Banking & Finance, Business, Law & Taxation, Economics, Econometrics & Business Statistics, Management and Marketing at Monash University

MGF1010 Sem. 1 2021 (Caulfield) Research tips for the Individual Essay (Skeleton and Final Essay)

Topic

'To what extent do you agree that Scientific Management approaches are outdated and no longer useful for contemporary organisations? Are there other approaches that are more appropriate for contemporary organisations?'

Students are required to write an argumentative academic essay addressing the above statement, through the use of relevant theory and real-life company examples.

Be sure to read the full assignment instructions for both the essay skeleton and final essay (on the unit Moodle site). Below is advice on how search for and find relevant academic and some non-academic sources to support your arguments.

Beginning your essay research

The following techniques and resources are important, not just for the MGF1010 essay assignment, but for future unit assignments as well.

  • Start early, to give yourself the time needed to investigate and decide on the scope of your essay.
  • Start from what you know- i.e. your lecture materials, notes and any relevant unit readings, to explore the relevant theories and how they are applied.
  • As you read, note potentially useful references (i.e. cited books, journal and news articles) to search for later. Some online journal articles include direct links to their reference list items, and to items that cite that article.
  • Make a note of possible search terms, including any alternative expressions.
  • Management textbooks may also help you to get started.
  • Use Library Search, the Library's resource discovery tool, to look for relevant electronic books, including text books held by the Monash libraries. 
  • Search also includes articles from some of the journal article databases that the Library subscribes to. However, the content of many databases is not able to be included in Search, notably Business Source Complete and Factiva, which need to be searched separately (see below). 

For further tips and advice see: Research and writing for assignments including advice on understanding and brainstorming an assignment topic.

Searching for academic and non-academic sources for your essay

Academic journal articles can provide both relevant theory and cases of its application, while non-academic sources such as business magazines and news articles can be useful for examples of applications of the theory (e.g. in particular companies and industries).

The following links are part of this Business and Economics library guide, and will introduce you to identifying and searching for academic and non-academic articles.

Go to Journal articles, then the following sub tabs:

  • About academic and non-academic articles:  Why they are important and how to distinguish between them. Check out the short tutorial and find out how to save time when reading (often long and dense) academic articles.
  • Journal articles- key databases:  Find out about Business Source Complete via a short tutorial, which also covers how to design a database search for academic and non-academic journal articles. 

Go to News Sources and scroll down to the Major newspaper databases section to find out about, and access Factiva. The short tutorial will show you how to search effectively for news articles from around the world.

Both Business Source Complete and Factiva will be major information resources throughout your studies at Monash. You could also try other key journal databases, such as ProQuest and Emerald, which are listed at Journal articles- key databases.

Your previous reading and understanding of the relevant relevant theories and their applications are important for designing your searches and then identifying which articles from a search result are most relevant for your response. Look for further potential search terms in the records you find to try in subsequent searches.

Referencing for your essay using the APA style

Be sure to reference the articles you use in your essay according to the APA 7th style. The Citing and referencing library guide provides detailed APA 7th advice and examples- refer to the APA 7th Quick Guide PDF as an introduction. See also Academic integrity and referencing.

In the Business Source Complete and ProQuest databases you can obtain the reference details from the record for a particular article by clicking Cite, choosing APA, then copying and pasting the formatted details into your document to create a reference list. However, beware that the pasted text usually requires subsequent manual editing to conform to the APA style.

 

Further help

For questions about assignment research or referencing:

For advice about writing your essay: