Skip to main content

Map Collection: GIS data sources

The Map collection comprises a range of materials related to spatial information. The collection provides study facilities for researchers and is supported by a Map Librarian.

Selected links to GIS data resources

Australian GIS data

  • Australian Government Open Data  
  • GovPond: now searches both data.gov.au and various State Government data sites
  • Geoscience Australia:  Australia's pre-eminent public sector geoscience organisation.
  • Location INformation Knowledge (LINK) Platform:  Key fundamental Australian government spatial datasets
  • Research Data Australia (RDA):  A discovery service designed to provide rich connections between data, projects, researchers and institutions, and promote visibility of Australian research data collections in search engines.
  • Australian Urban Research Infrastructure Network (AURIN): crucial infrastructure for researchers, government and industry, accelerating research into our towns, cities and communities. We provide the data and tools
  • Victorian Government Data Portal:  You will find data directly from Victorian government departments and agencies. Get access to over 3000 datasets, tools and resources. data.vic.gov.au supports re-usable, accessible, understandable and shareable, Victorian government data.
  • 'Open Council' Spatial data from Australian LGAs:  Local Government Spatial open data for Australia
  • Victorian Public Records Office - Land & Porperty: Historical maps, buildings, planning rate records, and more ............
  • Spatial data and resources (VicMap data): The Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP) maintains a vast amount of spatial information relating to natural resources and land use.
  • Victorian Planning Authority: In line with the Victorian government's DataVic Access Policy, and in conjunction with data.vic.gov.au, the Victorian Planning Authority is committed to providing free and open data for public use.
  • Geological Data of Victoria: Download digitalised geological map sheets and raw geological data packages of Victoria
  • Forest Explorer Online (slow to load): provides access to Victorian forest, Public Land, Water, Wetland information. Maybe slow to load.
  • vicroads Open Data: Data about road use and transport in Victoria
  • nearmap ltd: Online downloadable hi-res Aerial Photography. The University of Melbourne has a subscription for enrolled staff and students to nearmap. Register through URL supplied in the Library catalogue only.
  • Victorian Government Data Portal: You will find data directly from Victorian government departments and agencies. Get access to over 3000 datasets, tools and resources. data.vic.gov.au supports re-usable, accessible, understandable and shareable, Victorian government data.
  • Address: Vicmap Address is Victoria's authoritative geocoded database of property address points.
  • Administration: This dataset series contains polygon features delineating key Victorian administrative boundaries.
  • Cadastral (Property): These layers consist of polygons and tablets representing Victoria's properties.
  • Cadastral (Simplified Parcel Boundary): Parcel Map Polygons is a polygon layer belonging to Vicmap Property Simplified, a modified and simplified model of Vicmap Property.
  • Crown Land Tenure: This Product is a decoded version of Vicmap Crown Land Tenure.
  • Elevation contours: This dataset series is a product of Vicmap Elevation. It is a combination of a number of data sets that were a part of VicMap Digital Topographic.
  • Elevation - 1-5 Contours & Relief (1985 Melbourne): Metropolitan Melbourne coverage, 1985.
  • Elevation 10-20m Contours (Statewide): This layer is part of Vicmap Elevation 10-20 Contours & Relief, a subset of Vicmap Elevation.
  • Vicmap Elevation DTM 10m: Vicmap Elevation DTM 10m is a product which is a raster representation of Victoria's elevation. DTM 10m has a spatial resolution of 10m.
  • Features of Interest: Vicmap Features of Interest Product contains a series of datasets.
  • Victorian Digital Geological data online: These packages contain a digital version of almost 47 years of exploration data held by DPI. It enables clients to research the details of previous exploration work conducted in their area of interest from the comfort of their own office.
  • Geomark: This dataset series contains a range of named or 'could be' named Victorian topographic features.
  • Melbourne Metro Tunnel Project & Stations GIS data: These spatial layers represents the location of underground tunnel and stations details for the Melbourne Metro Tunnel Project.
  • Planning: Vicmap Planning is the map data representing the land use zone and overlay controls for all Victorian planning schemes.
  • PTV bus routes and stops: Public Transport Victoria bus routes & stops depicts a spatial object (polyline) representing the master (publicly known) routes in regional Victoria .
  • TERN's Soil and Landscape Grid of Australia:  Researchers from across Australia have joined together to develop detailed digital maps of the country’s soil and landscape attributes.
  • Transport (Vicmap) - Road Network: This layer is part of Vicmap Transport and is and extensive digital road network - line features delineating state wide road network. Includes; Bridges, Connectors, Footbridge, Ferry Route, Foot Tracks, Roads, Highways, Roundabouts & Tunnels.
  • Native Vegetation: Modelled 2005 Ecological Vegetation Classes (with Bioregional Conservation Status)
  • Vicmap Products: Vicmap™ is the foundation that underlies most spatial information in Victoria.
  • Vicmap Lite: Statewide data series depicting major features, public land, vegetation, hydrology, transport and administrative data.
  • Vicmap Hydro 1:25,000: This dataset series contains line, point & polygon features delineating hydrology. It is a combination of a number of data sets that are a part of Vicmap Hydro.

 

  • City of Melbourne Open Data Portal: The City of Melbourne's open downloadable data
  • City of Melbourne Building footprints:  Building footprints for the CBD and area
  • City of Melbourne Tree Canopies 2016 (Urban Forest): This dataset details the location, species and lifespan of inner Melbourne's urban forest.
  • Landmarks and Places of Interest: This dataset contains a description and co-ordinates of places of interest within the City of Melbourne
  • Conservation Areas in the Biodiversity Conservation Strategy:  The dataset provides conservation areas, within the Melbourne West, Sunbury (Melbourne North-west), Melbourne North and Melbourne South-east growth areas between the 2005 and 2010 Urban Growth Boundary.
  • Urban Growth Boundary - Vicmap Planning: This dataset contains line features representing a boundary which indicates the long-term limits of urban development in metropolitan Melbourne. It only affects 17 LGAs within the Melbourne metropolitan area.
  • Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board (MFB) locations: The Metropolitan Fire and Emergency Services Board (MFB) provides a world- class fire and rescue service.
  • Biodiversity Conservation Strategy Extent: This dataset provides the spatial extent in which the Biodiversity Conservation Strategy, as part of the Melbourne Strategic Assessment, applies.
  • Native Vegetation Time Stamping Dataset - Melbourne Growth Areas (VC68): This dataset is a definitive view of native vegetation extent and condition across Melbourne¬ís VC68 urban growth areas

 

 

  • 'Open Council' Spatial data from Australian LGAs: Local Government Spatial open data for Australia
    •     Casey City Council GIS data
    •     Brimbank City Council GIS data
    •     Geelong City Council GIS data
    •     Wyndham City Council GIS data
    •     Hobsons Bay City Council GIS data
    •     Maribyrnong City Council GIS data
    •     Melbourne City Council GIS data
    •     Port Phillip City Council GIS data
    •     Boroonda City Council GIS data
    •     Greater Dandenong City Council GIS data
    •     Manningham City Council GIS data
    •     Whittlesea City Council GIS data
    •     Nillumbik Shire GIS data
    •     Yarra Ranges Shire GIS data
    •     Frankston City Council GIS data
    •     Casey City Council GIS data
    •     Cardinia Shire GIS data
    •     Stonnington City Council GIS data
    •     Glen Eira City Council GIS data

 

  •     VicRoads Open Data Site
  •     Road and transport related data
  •     VicRoads Melbourne Maintenance map
  •     Periodic maintenance is all the work done on a regular basis that helps protect and restore roads
  •     
  •  

 

 

 

  • NSW Open Data Portal
  • NSW SIX geospatial information portal:  The SIX Portal is the official source of NSW geospatial information. It also provides access to authoritative land and property information.
  • NSW Spatial Data Catalogue
  • Data South Australia
  • Government data from SA
  • Location SA Viewer
  • Spatial information and services for South Australia
  • Queensland Gov. Open data
  • Queensland Spatial Catalogue - QSpatial
  • Data ACT: Search for data about the Australian Capital Territory
  • ACTMAPi:   ACT Government's interactive mapping service
  • Northern Territory Government information and services
  • NT Atlas and Spatial Data Directory: Interactive online mapping tool with metadata and links to spatial data layers
  • Western Australia Open Data
  • WA Landgate:  The State's official register of land ownership and survey information and is responsible for valuing the State's land and property for government interest.
  • Western Australia SLIP: Spatial map data from WA
  • Open Council Data: Interactive map of Australian City and Shire with online spatial data.  This repository contains lightweight standards for the publishing of council data. The standards have initially been developed by councils in Victoria, Australia, but are open to other councils to use and participate in developing.

International & World data resources