Religious Studies: Databases

JSTOR is a comprehensive library of important scholarly literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. It includes thousands of academic journals, books, and primary sources from a wide range of academic publishers and university presses. Titles span across disciplines, including core areas such as business & economics, social sciences, education, history, language & literature and science. Current journals are linked and cross-searchable with archival journals and ebooks.

See: Academic OneFile

Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of hundreds of scholarly periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, including some published as far back as 1770. It is international in scope with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles.

This database is a research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. It contains many thousands of article abstracts, review abstracts, book abstracts, and some software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,000 articles from selected periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, approximately 900 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.

Cambridge Companions is a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Note: access available to subscribed titles only.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century. Volume I: Christianity includes the complete 17-volume German edition of Dietrich Bonhoeffer Werke (DBW) and English edition of the Dietrich Bonhoeffer Works Series (DBWE) and an international selection of English-language editions of key authors such as Pope Benedict XVI, Hans Urs von Baltasar, Leonardo Boff, Sergius Bulgakov, Rudolf Bultmann, Helder Camara, James Cone, Mary Daly, Ivone Gebara, and others.

This is a scholarly, highly curated collection of key primary and secondary texts on Islam including foundational writings and contextual monographs: from the late 19th century through the 21st century. It currently features more than 100 authors from a diverse range of countries, representing a wide range of voices of Islam. It includes coverage of key themes such as: The State; Women and Islam; Tradition and Renewal; Text and reason; Quran and Hadith; Islamic Law and Legal Reforms; Islam and the West; Piety movements; Political Islam; Salafi Thought.

This collection focuses on modern Jewish theology and philosophy and details Judaism’s evolution from the late 19th century by examining printed works and rare documents. It includes an international selection of English-language editions of key thinkers such as Eugene Borowitz, Elliott Dorff, Emil L. Fackenheim, Blu Greenberg, David Hartman, Mordecai Kaplan, Adolf Neubauer, and Joseph B. Soloveitchik; writings in German and Hebrew from the Markus Brann collection, and a selection of contextual monographs and reference works.

Brill’s flagship series in religion in antiquity presents monographs and collections of essays that make original contributions to this long-standing field. This series is a forum for studies in the social and cultural function of religions in the Greek and the Roman worlds, dealing with the religions of city and region between ca. 400 bce and 700 ce, both on their own terms and in their interaction with early Christianity, Judaism, and Islam. Also included is Studies in Greek and Roman Religion (1980-1990), a series of international studies in Hellenic and Roman theology.