Skip to main content

Theses: Submission

This guides includes resources and guidelines for locating and accessing theses produced by Monash University as well as other institutions.

Submitting your thesis for examination

Monash University Higher Degree by Research students are required to submit a digital copy of their final thesis for examination through the Monash Graduate Research Office portal - See Submission instructions and Frequently Asked Questions.

If you are completing your degree with the IITB-Monash Research Academy, please contact MGRO (mgro-thesisexams@monash.edu) who will provide you with instructions for submitting your thesis.

On acceptance, the thesis will then be automatically added to the Monash University Research Repository for archiving and public discoverability in monash.figshare. Requests for changes to the information in the record, adding or removing an embargo, or changes to the thesis file itself must be submitted in writing to the Monash Graduate Research Office: mgro-thesisexams@monash.edu

 

Publishing of the final thesis to the Research Repository is an automated procedure, students should therefore take care to supply the correct information and select the appropriate access category when submitting the thesis for examination.

Access category options when submitting final thesis

1. Open access

The bibliographical details and the full-text of the thesis will be publicly discoverable and accessible (viewed and/or downloaded). The student retains copyright on the thesis but grants Monash University a non-exclusive licence to publish the thesis in the Monash University Research Repository. The student will need to seek permission to publish any sensitive or third-party material within the thesis.

 

1.1 Open access with initial temporary embargo

Requests to have your thesis placed under an initial embargo must be approved by the Monash Graduate Research Office (MGRO) for reasons relating to sensitive or confidential information, or publishing intent.

If approved, the full-text of the thesis will not be made available to anyone for a specified period of time, as approved by MGRO. The public will only have access to the bibliographical details of the thesis. These bibliographical details include the title, abstract, and keywords for the thesis.

Once the embargo period has elapsed, the thesis will automatically revert to open access. The full-text of the thesis will then be publicly discoverable and accessible (viewed and/or downloaded).

 

2. Restricted access

If your thesis contains sensitive or third-party content for which you do not have copyright permission to publish, it should be submitted with a request to make the file restricted access.

The full-text of the thesis will not be published online. The public will only have access to the bibliographical details of the thesis. These bibliographical details include the title, abstract, and keywords for the thesis.

The Library may still supply the full-text of the thesis, in whole or in part, for research purposes through institutional document delivery services, as permitted under Section 51 (2) of the Australia Copyright Act 1968.

 

2.1 Restricted access with initial temporary embargo

Requests to have your thesis placed under an initial embargo must be approved by the Monash Graduate Research Office (MGRO) for reasons relating to sensitive or confidential information, or publishing intent.

If approved, the full-text of the thesis will not be made available to anyone for a specified period of time, as approved by MGRO. The public will only have access to the bibliographical details of the thesis. These bibliographical details include the title, abstract, and keywords for the thesis.

Once the embargo period has elapsed, the thesis will automatically revert to restricted access. The full-text of the thesis will remain unpublished, however the Library may supply the full-text, in whole or in part, for research purposes through institutional document delivery services, as permitted under Section 51 (2) of the Australia Copyright Act 1968.