Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BIOSIS previews [via Web of science]
An expansive index to life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, books, and patents.
1926 to present.
CAB abstracts [via Ovid]
CAB ABSTRACTS [via Ovid] is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB INTERNATIONAL. It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature, including behavioural sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. The PubMed database contains more than 32 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). Available to the public online since 1996, PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Browser requirements: Mozilla Firefox version 15.x ; Google Chrome version 22.x; IE version 11
Scopus is an abstracting and indexing citation database of peer-reviewed scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature. It includes journal and monograph titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources, and provides seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription. It also features smart tools to track, analyse and visualize research.
Web of science core collection
Web of Science Core Collection provides users with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. Core collection includes: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present); Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present); Book Citation Index– Science (2005-present); Book Citation Index– Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present); Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present); Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present); Index Chemicus (1993-present)
Agriculture and natural resources research (Informit) This link opens in a new window
ANR-I, an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Search in conjunction with ANR-I archive for a comprehensive search.
Biological science database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
Birds of the world This link opens in a new window
Birds of the World brings together scholarly content from four significant works of ornithology--Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds, with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive, and Bird Families of the World, into one comprehensive hub where you can find authoritative information on birds. Includes integration of millions of bird observations from eBird and images from the Macaulay Library, as well as photographs detailing plumages, geographic variation, and behavior; an expanding video gallery showcasing courtship, breeding, foraging, and other behaviors; and in-depth audio recordings of songs, calls, and non-vocal sounds.
Crop protection compendium This link opens in a new window
The Crop Protection Compendium (CPC) is an encyclopaedic resource that brings together a wide range of different types of science-based information on all aspects of crop protection. It comprises detailed datasheets on pests, diseases, weeds, host crops and natural enemies that have been sourced from experts, edited by an independent scientific organization, and enhanced with data from specialist organizations, images, maps, a bibliographic database and full text articles.
Environmental impact This link opens in a new window
Environmental Impact is an internet resource created in response to a demand from the scientific community, policy makers and information specialists for a single comprehensive bibliographic information resource on human influences on the biosphere, including pollution, deforestation, desertification and habitat loss, and climate change ... It contains bibliographic records on environmental issues from CABIs leading databases CAB Abstracts and Global Health, from 1910 to the present, and access to abstracts, full text documents, news articles, book chapters and CAB Reviews.
Environmental abstracts (Informit) This link opens in a new window
EVA (formerly EPIC), produced by the EPA Victoria Library, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on the environment and related fields. Source documents are selected journal articles from approximately 600 journals published in Australia and overseas. Subject coverage includes air pollution and quality, sustainable development, salinity, environmental protection and management, hazardous wastes, recycling, waste management and disposal, water pollution, environmental assessment, and pollution control. Coverage: 1987 to October 2011.
JSTOR global plants This link opens in a new window
JSTOR global plants offers access to botanical resources from dozens of herbaria, libraries, museums and other research institutions. The database includes plant type specimens from herbaria around the world, scientific research articles and correspondence dating back hundreds of years, and full-text books and reference works on botany.
JSTOR sustainability collection This link opens in a new window
This resource was built in collaboration with librarians, scholars and policy researchers, and brings together key journals as well as open research reports from leading research institutes worldwide. It features over 100 journals that are all new to JSTOR, and over 5,000 open research reports. The collection looks at sustainability and resilience through a broad lens, spanning over more than 30 disciplines.
Ovid MEDLINE (R) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide. Records start in 1946 up to the present, with daily updates. Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the National Library of Medicine.
Great Barrier Reef marine park province database (Informit) This link opens in a new window
REEF, developed by the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park Authority in association with CSIRO, is a bibliographic database indexing articles from published and unpublished material about the Great Barrier Reef. Subject coverage includes coastal zone management, coral reef ecology, fisheries, history, marine archaeology, marine biology, marine park management, natural resources management, oceanography, reef walking, scuba diving, tourism and zoology. Source documents include books, maps, journal articles and audio visual material for both scholarly and popular audiences. Many of the records are of historical importance dating back to the 19th century.
TAIR, the Arabidopsis information resource This link opens in a new window
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) provides a comprehensive resource for the scientific community working with Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. TAIR consists of a searchable relational database, which includes many different datatypes.