Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese studies

Finding Monash theses

The Library receives one copy of each doctoral and masters thesis accepted by Monash University.  Theses are not available for loan, and generally only the microfiche copies are available for consultation.

To search for a specific thesis in the Library Catalogue, type your keywords or author’s surname followed by 'monash thesis'. 

Monash University Theses, a digital archive of recent PhD theses undertaken at Monash University for long-term preservation and access. The online collection includes full text theses submitted after 2010 and selected copies of earlier print theses.

Theses in the Research Repository can also be browsed by Faculty of Arts Theses.

Finding Australian and overseas theses

Theses from Australia and New Zealand

Trove includes doctoral, masters and some honours theses from all Australian and New Zealand universities. Trove also includes theses awarded elsewhere but held by Australian institutions. Help on finding theses in Trove are here.

Theses from Japan

CiNii Dissertations, dissertations written for doctoral degrees in Japan.

NDL ONLINE from the National Diet Library, Japan

Institutional Repositories DataBase (IRDB) enables the search for theses among other document types across 84 institutional repositories in Japan.

Other theses databases

The WorldCat database is the OCLC Online Union Catalog. It contains millions of records describing items owned by libraries around the world.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations various countries

Proquest Dissertations & Theses (US & Canadian theses)

Index to theses in Great Britain and Ireland

See more in the Thesis library guide