Citing and referencing: News sources

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

News sources

Newspaper articles

Generally newspaper articles are cited in notes but are not included in bibliographies. If a newspaper article has no author listed, cite the title of the newspaper in italics. If an article is accessed through a database include the URL. For assessment tasks, students may be required to include access dates for online sources.

Rule for Note

Note number. Author’s Full Name, “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article,” Title of Newspaper (City of publication if not part of the newspaper title), Date of publication.

or

Note number. Title of Newspaper, “Title of Article: Subtitle of Article,” (City of publication if not part of the newspaper title), Date of publication.

Example of Note entry

1. Alan Riding, “Selective French Homage to Jewish History: Scant Mention of Holocaust in a New Museum,” New York Times, December 28, 1998.

or

2. New York Times, “In Texas, Ad Heats up Race for Governor,” July 30, 2002.

or

3. Troy Bramston, “Oldest ANZAC Cove Memorial Returns,” Australian (Sydney), September 10, 2014. https://infoweb-newsbankcom.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/
resources/doc/nb/news/1503BD1032061B48?p=AWNB.

Subsequent Note entry

4. Riding, “Selective French Homage to Jewish History.”

or

5. New York Times, “In Texas, Ad Heats up Race for Governor.”

or

6. Bramston, “Oldest ANZAC Cove Memorial Returns.”

 

News broadcasts aired on television, viewed live stream, on demand, or in databases

If the broadcast is viewed through live stream or on demand through a database include the URL. For assessment tasks, students may be required to include access dates for online sources. If a bibliography entry is needed, follow the patterns below.

Rule for Note

Note number. Network or News Services, “Title of News Item,” Title of Program, Date of broadcast, Type of broadcast.

or

Note number. Network or News Services, “Title of News Item,” Title of Program, Date of broadcast, URL.

Example of Note entry

1. Australian Broadcasting Corporation, “Growing Calls for a Royal Commission into the Commonwealth Bank Fraud Scandal,” 7.30 Report, July 1, 2014, Television Broadcast.

or

2. Australian Broadcasting Corporation, “Democracy For Sale: A Premier’s Fall From Grace,” Four Corners, June 23, 2014, search-informit-com-au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/media;dn=TSM201406230011;res=TVNEWS;type=mp4.

Subsequent Note entry

3. Australian Broadcasting Corporation, “Growing Calls for a Royal Commission into the Commonwealth Bank Fraud Scandal.”

Rule for Bibliography

Network or News Services. “Title of News Item.” Title of Program. Date of Broadcast. Type of Broadcast.

Example of Bibliography entry

Australian Broadcasting Corporation. “Growing Calls for a Royal Commission into the Commonwealth Bank Fraud Scandal.” 7.30 Report. July 1, 2014. Television Broadcast.

 

Newspaper articles

Generally, cite newspaper and magazines articles only within the text. If a newspaper article has no author listed, cite the title of the newspaper in italics. If a reference list entry is needed, repeat the year along with the date of publication. If the article is accessed through a database include the URL. For assessment tasks, students may be required to include access dates for online sources.

Rule for Citation

(Author’s Last Name Year of Publication)

or

(Title of Publication Year of Publication)

Example of Citation entry

(Riding 1998)

or

(New York Times 2002)

Note that citations of the titles of newspapers generally excludes the definite article: “The”.

Rule for Reference list

Author’s Surname, Author’s Given Name. Year of Publication. “Title of Article.” Title of Publication, Date of publication including year.

or

Title of Publication. Year of Publication. “Title of Article”. Date of publication including year.

or

Author’s Surname, Author’s Given Name. Year of Publication. “Title of Article.” Title of Publication, Date of publication including year. URL.

Example of Reference list entry

Riding, Alan. 1998. “Selective French Homage to Jewish History: Scant Mention of Holocaust in a New Museum.” New York Times, December 28, 1998.

or

New York Times. 2002. “In Texas, Ad Heats Up Race for Governor.” July 30, 2002.

or

Bramston, Troy. 2014. “Oldest ANZAC Cove Memorial Returns.” The Australian, September 10, 2014. https://infoweb-newsbank-com.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/resources/doc/nb/news/1503BD1032061B48?p=AWNB.

 

News broadcasts aired on television, viewed live stream, on demand, or in databases

If the broadcast is viewed through live stream, on demand through a database include the URL. For assessment tasks, students may be required to include access dates for online sources.

Rule for Citation

(Network or News Services’ Acronym or Name Year of Broadcast)

Example of Citation entry

(ABC 2014)

Rule for Reference list

Acronym (Network or News Services). Year of broadcast, “Title of News Item.” Title of Program. Network. Date of broadcast. Type of broadcast.

or

Acronym (Network or News Services). Year of broadcast, “Title of News Item.” Title of Program. Network. Date of broadcast. Type of broadcast. URL.

Example of Reference list entry

ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation). 2014. “Growing Calls for a Royal Commission into the Commonwealth Bank Fraud Scandal.” 7.30 Report. July 1, 2014. Television Broadcast.

or

ABC (Australian Broadcasting Corporation). 2014. “Democracy For Sale: A Premier’s Fall From Grace” Four Corners. June 23, 2014. Television Broadcast. search-informit-com-au.ezproxy.lib.monash.edu.au/media;dn=TSM201406230011;res=TVNEWS;type=mp4.

Loading ...