Citing and referencing: University theses and dissertations

A guide to the styles recommended by Monash schools and departments for students and researchers

University theses and dissertations

University theses or dissertations, accessed online

References to university theses and dissertations follow similar patterns to those of books, but they include the thesis title enclosed in quotation marks, and indicate the type of thesis (master’s or PhD), the name of the awarding university, and the year awarded. Reference to theses retrieved from academic databases include the name of the database and the supplied document identifier, enclosed in parentheses, or a URL.

Rule for Note

Note number. Author’s Full Name, “Title of Thesis: Subtitle of Thesis” (Thesis type, University’s Name, Year of award), Database name (Document identifier).

Example of Note entry

1. Shakela Carion Johnson, “An Examination of the Social Characteristics and Beliefs of Delinquent and Non-Delinquent Youth” (PhD thesis, Auburn University, 2007), ProQuest (AAI3270975).

Subsequent Note entry

2. Johnson, “An Examination of the Social Characteristics and Beliefs of Delinquent and Non-Delinquent Youth”.

Rule for Bibliography

Author’s Surname, Author’s Given Name. “Title of Thesis: Subtitle of Thesis.” Thesis type, University’s Name, Year of award. Database name (Document identifier).

Example of Bibliography entry

Johnson, Shakela Carion. “An Examination of the Social Characteristics and Beliefs of Delinquent and Non-Delinquent Youth.” PhD thesis, Auburn University, 2007. ProQuest (AAI3270975).

 

University theses or dissertations, accessed online

References to university theses and dissertations follow similar patterns to those of books, but they include the thesis title enclosed in quotation marks, and indicate the type of thesis (master’s or PhD), the name of the awarding university, and the year awarded. To reference theses retrieved from academic databases include the name of the database and the supplied document identifier, enclosed in parentheses, or a URL, in the reference list entry.

Rule for Citation

(Author’s Last Name Year of Award, Page or Pages)

Example of Citation entry

(Johnson 2007, 60–63)

Rule for Reference list

Author’s Surname, Author’s Given Name. Year of Award. “Title of Thesis: Subtitle of Thesis.” Thesis type, University’s Name. Database name (Document identifier).

Example of Reference list entry

Johnson, Shakela Carion. 2007. “An Examination of the Social Characteristics and Beliefs of Delinquent and Non-Delinquent Youth.” PhD thesis, Auburn University. ProQuest (AAI3270975).

Loading ...