Skip to Main Content

Vancouver 2022

Medicine and health sources

Evidence summaries/point of care tools/guidelines

Format

Number.    Entry title. Tool name. Publisher. Updated Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Example

DynaMed plus
 

16.     Diabetes mellitus type 1. DynaMed. EBSCO Information Services. Updated April 13, 2022. Accessed September 14, 2022. https://www.dynamed.com/condition/diabetes-mellitus-type-1-39

UpToDate
 

17.     Egan BM. Patient adherence and the treatment of hypertension. UpToDate. Wolters Kluwer. Updated March 5, 2022. Accessed September 14, 2022. https://www.uptodate.com/contents/patient-adherence-and-the-treatment-of-hypertension?csi=02befec0-ecd5-4fed-931e-35cb7e9f1f6b&source=contentShare

BMJ best practice
 

18.     Hueston WJ. Acute bronchitis. BMJ Best Practice. BMJ Publishing Group. Updated May 13, 2022. Accessed September 14, 2022.https://bestpractice-bmj-com.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/topics/en-gb/135

JBI EBP database [Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice]
 

19.     Ndegwa, MD. Gestational diabetes: antenatal care. JBI EBP Database. Ovid; 2021. Accessed October 20, 2022. http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&PAGE=reference&D=jbi&NEWS=N&AN=JBI17950

Cochrane clinical answers
 

20.     Bunt C. For people who have had a stroke, does repetitive task training help to improve functional ability? 2018; Cochrane Clinical Answers. Wiley. Accessed October 20, 2022. doi:10.1002/cca.2111

Therapeutic guidelines [formerly eTG complete]
 

21.    Gastro-oesophageal reflux in adults. In: Therapeutic Guidelines; 2021. Updated August 2022. Accessed September 14, 2022. https://tinyurl.com/5yc6ffke

Tips

  • Tools used for health and diagnostic purposes contain information that is designed to change over time
  • You should include the last updated or revised date (if given) of the item as well as the date it was accessed.
  • Chapter 3.15 of the Style Manual has further information
  • See also the National Library of Medicine (NLM)Citing Medicine manual, Chapter 22 for more information about online content.

Standards

Format

Number.    Standard number Standard title. Edition. Publisher. Published Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL 

Example

22.     AS ISO 15189-2013 Medical laboratories: requirements for quality and competence. 2nd ed. Standards Australia. Published May 14, 2013. Accessed September 16, 2022. https://subscriptions-techstreet-com.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/products/812265

Tips

  • In Chapter 3.17 of the Style Manual there is an example of a reference for ANSI/NISO standard.

Pharmacopoeias

Format

Number.    Entry Title. In: Pharmacopoeia title; Year of publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Example

23.    Edetate Disodium. In: USP-NF; 2022. Accessed September 16, 2022. doi:10.31003/USPNF_M28970_04_01

Tips

  • Chapter 14.9.7 of the Style Manual has some examples of references for pharmacopoeias.

Formularies (electronic)

Format

Number.    Entry Title. In: Formulary title. Publisher. Updated Month Day, Year. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Example

47.     Escitalopram. In: Australian Medicines Handbook. Australian Medicines Handbook Pty Ltd. Updated July 2022. Accessed October 20, 2022. https://amhonline-amh-net-au.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/chapters/psychotropic-drugs/antidepressants/ssris/escitalopram

Tips

  • Formularies and entries within them, follow the same format as for books and chapters. There are multiple examples for handbooks in the Style Manual and a section on monographs in Chapter 3.12.3. Package inserts are discussed inChapter 3.13.6.

Entry from formulary (print)

Format

Number.    Entry Title. In: Formulary title. Edition. Publisher; Year of publication: Page number of entry.

Example

50.     Spirulina. In: Pharmaceutical Society of Australia. Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook: A Guide to Best Practice. 25th ed. Pharmaceutical Society of Australia; 2021: 277.

Drug monographs (electronic)

Format

Number.    Drug name. In: Database title. Publisher; Year of publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Example

52.     Pregabalin. In: Micromedex. IBM Watson Health; 2022.  Accessed October 26, 2022. https://tinyurl.com/rvd9r5dc

53.     Roaccutane. In: MIMS Online. MIMS Australia Pty Ltd; 2022. Accessed October 26, 2022. https://tinyurl.com/zknwreu7

54.     Codeine (Systemic). In: AusDI. MedicalDirector; 2022. Accessed October 26, 2022. https://ausdi-hcn-com-au.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/productMonograph.hcn?file=1211

Drug interactions (electronic)

Format

Number.    Drug name 1, Drug name 2. In: Database title. Publisher; Year of publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Example

55.     Acetaminophen, Warfarin. In: Micromedex Drug Interactions. IBM Watson Health; 2022. Accessed October 26, 2022. https://www-micromedexsolutions-com.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/micromedex2/librarian/PFDefaultActionId/evidencexpert.ShowDrugInteractionsResults#

56.     Paracetamol, Warfarin sodium. In: MIMS Online Drug Interactions. MIMS Australia Pty Ltd; 2022. Accessed October 26, 2022. https://tinyurl.com/33fe7c7z

Complementary and alternative medicines (electronic)

Format

Number.    Entry name. In: Database title. Publisher; Year of publication. Accessed Month Day, Year. URL

Example

58.     Fish oil. In: Natural Medicines. Therapeutic Research Center; 2022. Accessed October 26, 2022. https://naturalmedicines-therapeuticresearch-com.ap1.proxy.openathens.net/databases/food,-herbs-supplements/professional.aspx?productid=993