Skip to main content

EndNote: Working with Word

Working with Word

EndNote and Word are able to work together to help you insert in-text citations and create reference lists/bibliographies in your documents.

The EndNote menu bar in Word

endnote-word-menu-bar

Starting from your EndNote library

  1. Open your Word document, then in EndNote highlight the required reference by clicking it once
  2. Change back to Word, either from the tab at the bottom of your screen or by clicking the Return to Word Processor icon in Endnote.
  3. Place the cursor at the place in your document where the citation is to be inserted
  4. From the EndNote menu bar select Insert Citation then Insert selected citation(s)
  5. The in-text citation appears in your text and the corresponding reference is automatically added to the reference list/bibliography in your chosen reference style

Hint: When you need to cite a number of references at the same place use Ctrl+Click or Shift+Click within EndNote to select them.

Starting from the Word document

  1. In your Word document place your cursor where you wish to insert a citation
  2. Select the EndNote X9 icon in the menu bar, and a search dialog box will open
  3. Search for the required reference - a list of matching records may appear, highlight the required reference
  4. Click insert. You can select your citation to be displayed in a different format, for example Author (year) as in an author prominent citation.
  5. The citation will appear in your document and be added automatically to the reference list/bibliography at the end of your document.

Sometimes you want to remove or edit an existing citation, e.g. the wrong citation inserted or incorrectly placed or you wish to add page numbers for a direct quote. DO NOT simply select and delete/edit the citation. This is because EndNote inserts hidden formatting characters that may not be cleanly deleted/edited resulting in corruption of the document.  To delete or edit citations always use Edit and Manage Citations. .

To delete a citation

  1. Click on the relevant citation to select it. (in most cases clicking on it will highlight it in grey)
  2. Click the EndNote X9 tab in Word and choose Edit & Manage Citation(s)
  3. The Edit & Manage Citation(s) box displays. Ensure the correct citation is highlighted.
  4. Click the arrow beside the Edit Reference button, choose Remove Citation, and click OK

Note: The corresponding reference will only be removed from the reference list/bibliography if this is the only time that the citation is used.

To add page numbers to a citation

  1. Click on the relevant citation to select it. (In most cases clicking on it will highlight it in grey)
  2. Click the EndNote X9 tab in Word and choose Edit & Manage Citation(s)
  3. The Edit & Manage Citation(s) box displays. Ensure the correct citation is highlighted.
  4. In the Edit Citation dialog box, enter the page numbers to the Pages field and click OK.

Hint: Only some styles are set to display page numbers. For other styles, the suffix field can be used for adding page numbers to a citation.

To move in-text citations

Before cutting and pasting text within a document that contains formatted citations click Convert to Unformatted Citations (in the Convert Citations and Bibliography menu). This will avoid possible corruption of the document. To reformat the citations in the document, click Update Citations and Bibliography.

Working on a document using the Traveling Library

Formatted citations in a document include invisible field codes needed to form the in-text citation and corresponding reference entry. In the document these codes collectively form the document’s “Traveling Library”. The Travelling Library is a tool for author collaboration.

An author can send a collaborator a copy of a document which contains formatted citations from their library. The collaborating author can work on the document and add citations from their own library, and the reference list will update accordingly. Neither author requires access to each other’s library, as the document’s Traveling Library contains all the necessary information.

The document citations must remain formatted, as unformatting them will delete the field codes.

It is highly recommended that you should only collaborate on a document if you are familiar with EndNote and how it works with Word.

One collaborator should be responsible for creating the final document and reference list. They should add the traveling library to their existing library, as explained below. The document can then be safely unformatted if necessary.

Important

  • Each time a document is to be shared make sure that a back up copy is created prior to sharing.
  • Before cutting and pasting text within a document that contains formatted citations, click Convert to Unformatted Citations (in the Convert Citations and Bibliography menu). This will help avoid corruption of the document. To reformat the document, click Update Citations and Bibliography.

Adding a Traveling Library to your own library

Sometimes you may want to add traveling library references from a collaborator’s document to your own EndNote library. For example, you may want to use these references in another document.

In the Word EndNote toolbar, click Export to EndNote > Export to Traveling Library, and choose a new or existing target library. Each record will be assigned a new record number- In the document click Update Citations and Bibliography to incorporate these changes.

Collaborating using EndNote

For further information on collaboration using EndNote, and a comparison of the various options, consult the Little EndNote How-To Book (PDF, 10.1MB), Chapter 7.