Skip to main content

Law: Authorised law reports

Resources for legal research and writing, including guides to broad areas of law.

What are authorised law reports?

Authorised or official series of reports: A series of reports which has been given official approval by the judiciary (Council of Law Reporting).

  • In each jurisdiction only one series is designated authorised. 
  • Cases which enunciate a general principle or point of law are usually included in the authorised series of reports. 

Other series of law reports:

  • Are produced more quickly and are often directed towards specialist practitioners. 
  • Include reports of cases which may be later published in an authorised series
  • Can also include reports which may be only of transient interest, or illustrate the application of authoritative cases.

Cases may appear in several series depending on editorial interest and the importance of the case. For example High Court decisions are reported in the Commonwealth Law Reports (CLR), Australian Law Reports (ALR) and Australian Law Journal Reports (ALJR). The ALR and ALJR are law report series but not "authorised"; the CLR is the authorised series. A decision may be reported in all three series.

An authorised report (if available) should always be cited in preference to another report series, or unreported judgment. See:

Australian Authorised Law Reports

Court Authorised Report Series Citation
High Court Commonwealth Law Reports 1903- CLR
Federal Court Federal Court Reports 1984- FCR

- Administrative Appeals Tribunal 
- Reports of cases on appeal from the Tribunal 
- Other decisions relating generally to Administrative law

Administrative Law Decisions 1976- ALD
Supreme Court of Victoria Victorian Reports 1957-
Victorian Law Reports 1875-1956
Supreme Court of New South Wales New South Wales Law Reports 1970-
State Reports NSW 1901-1970,1901-1950 (AustLII)
New South Wales Law Reports 1825 - 1900
Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory Australian Capital Territory Law Reports 2008- ACTLR
Supreme Court of Northern Territory Northern Territory Law Reports 1991- NTLR
Supreme Court of Queensland Queensland Reports 1958-
State Reports. Queensland 1902-57
St R Qd
Supreme Court of South Australia South Australian State Reports 1971-
State Reports. South Australia 1921-71
South Australian Law Reports 1865-1920
Supreme Court of Tasmania Tasmanian Reports 1992-
State Reports Tasmania 1941-1978
Tasmanian Law Reports 1897-1940
Tas R
Tas SR
Supreme Court of Western Australia Western Australian Reports 1960-
Western Australian Law Reports 1899-1959

United Kingdom Authorised Law Reports

See ICLR Online for all UK authorised reports.
Court Authorised Report Series Citation
Supreme Court (previously House of Lords) Appeal Cases (The Law Reports) (ICLR) AC
Court of Appeal Appeal Cases (The Law Reports) (ICLR) AC
Chancery Division (High Court) Chancery Division (The Law Reports) (ICLR) Ch
Family Division (High Court) Family Division (The Law Reports) (ICLR) Fam
Queens Bench (High Court) Queens Bench Division (The Law Reports) (ICLR) QB