Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Image courtesy of Monash Library Rare Books.
Miles Franklin wrote this work under the masculine pseudonym 'Brent of Bin Bin'. To find all titles written by an author you need to check any pseudonyms used by an author, as well as their actual name.
News and current affairs
provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires.
New York times : books.
Free registration provides access to the book section of "The New York Times". Current and archived book reviews and news articles about literature are available.
TLS historical archive, 1902 -2014
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world's most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 30s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s. The complete run of the TLS from 1902-2014 is now available online as the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902 - 2014.
Pre-19th century book review indexes
Eighteenth century collections online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online delivers every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. It includes a variety of materials from books and directories, Bibles, sheet music and sermons to advertisements and works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, all providing a diverse collection of material for the researcher of the eighteenth century.
Indexes and databases which include book reviews
Expanded Academic ASAP
Multidisciplinary database covering journals from 1994 - . Use advanced search and limit use book review as a search term
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive.
JSTOR includes reviews from core journals in numerous disciplines. Coverage is archival so includes back issues of journals to 3-5 years ago. To find reviews select Advanced search and then on the search screen under Narrow Your Search to ”These types” check the Review box