Skip to main content

Medicine: MUDRI

Guide to information resources and services for Medicine, including basic and clinical sciences.

Contacts

Contact Librarian:

Penny Presta

Librarians can help you with:

  • utilising the Library's collections
  • finding information
  • citing and referencing using EndNote
  • managing your research data
  • research impact

Learning Skills Adviser:

Aimee Turner

Learning skills advisers can help you with:

  • academic writing and critical thinking
  • oral communication and presentation skills
  • study methods and exam preparation
  • effective listening, reading and note-taking
  • citing and referencing

Monash University Disaster Resilience Initiative (MUDRI)

SEARCH

Use the Search catalogue to discover books, articles, journals, databases and more!
A single search will return results from a number of different sources. Some of the key sources include:

Supported browsers

Internet Explorer 7+, Firefox 12+, Chrome 6+, Safari 5+

LIBRARY GUIDES

  • The Ebooks library guide has all you need to know about accessing and using ebooks available at Monash University.
  • The Document Delivery library guide outlines the request service available to postgraduates and staff for items that are not available in the Monash University Library collection.
  • The Theses Library Guide has information on searching for and accessing Monash, Australian, and international theses.
Suggest a purchase

Found something you think we should have in our library collection? You are encouraged to recommend material to support your research. Email your contact librarian Penny Presta.

 

Newspaper article databases:

  • Factiva full text of major Australian and selected international newspapers.
  • Newsbank newspapers full text of local, regional and national newspapers, plus international titles.
SEARCHING DATABASES - ONLINE TUTORIAL

To search databases effectively you must first formulate a search strategy. See the database search strategy online tutorial for a guide to this process.

DATABASE HANDOUTS

Database operators (PDF 125.93 KB)

A quick reference guide to key operators in Cinahl Plus, Cochrane Library, Informit, Ovid Medline, Embase via Ovid, Psycinfo, Google Scholar, Proquest Health & Medical Complete, PubMed, Scopus and Web of Science databases.
Includes database operators such as boolean, proximity operators, phrase searching, truncation symbols, wildcards and subject headings.

GOOGLE SCHOLAR

Google Scholar uses the Google search engine to search for scholarly information produced by academic publishers and professional organisations in a range of areas, including medicine.

Selected journals - click the journal title link for access via Monash University Library. Journal impact/ranking information is provided on the right.

JOURNAL TITLE

Incites JOURNAL CITATION REPORTS (JCR)
Based on Web of Science citation data
Subscription required - access via the
Library

SJR SCIMAGO Journal Rank
Based on Scopus data
Access via
website

Risk Analysis

2017 Journal Impact Factor: 2.898
Quartile: Q1
Rank: 10/103
Category: MATHEMATICS, INTERDISCIPLINARY APPLICATIONS

Quartile: Q1
Category: Safety, Risk, Reliability and Quality

Quartile: Q2
Category: Physiology (medical)

Academic Emergency Medicine

2017 Journal Impact Factor: 2.612
Quartile: Q1
Rank: 5/26
Category: EMERGENCY MEDICINE

Quartile: Q1
Category: Emergency medicine

Quartile: Q1
Category: Medicine (miscellaneous)

Annals of Emergency Medicine 2017 Journal Impact Factor: 4.680
Quartile: Q1
Rank: 2/26
Category: EMERGENCY MEDICINE
Quartile: Q1
Category: Emergency medicine
Prehospital and Disaster Medicine 2017 Journal Impact Factor: 0.971
Quartile: Q3
Rank: 18/26
Category: EMERGENCY MEDICINE

Quartile: Q1
Category: Emergency Nursing

Quartile: Q2
Category: Emergency Medicine

Emergency Medicine Journal

2017 Journal Impact Factor: 2.046
Quartile: Q2
Rank: 9/26
Category: EMERGENCY MEDICINE

Quartile: Q1
Category: Emergency medicine

Quartile: Q1
Category: Critical Care and Intensive Care Medicine

Quartile: Q1
Category: Medicine (miscellaneous)

International Journal of Disaster Risk Science

2017 Journal Impact Factor: 2.225
Quartile: Q2
Rank: 83/189
Category: GEOSCIENCES, MULTIDISCIPLINARY

Quartile: Q2
Rank: 38/86
Category: METEOROLOGY & ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES

Quartile: Q2
Rank: 28/90
Category: WATER RESOURCES

Quartile: Q1
Category: Safety Research

Quartile: Q1
Category: Geography, Planning and Development

Quartile: Q2
Category: Global and Planetary Change

Quartile: Q2
Category: Management, Monitoring, Policy and Law

International Journal of Disaster Risk Reduction

2017 Journal Impact Factor: 1.968
Quartile: Q2
Rank: 91/189
Category: GEOSCIENCES, MULTIDISCIPLINARY

Quartile: Q2
Rank: 37/90
Category: WATER RESOURCES

Quartile: Q3
Rank: 44/86
Category: METEOROLOGY & ATMOSPHERIC SCIENCES

Quartile: Q1
Category: Safety Research

Quartile: Q1
Category: Geotechnical Engineering and Engineering Geology

Quartile: Q2
Category: Geology

 

Disasters

2017 Journal Impact Factor: 1.596
Quartile: Q3
Rank: 30/57
Category: PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT

Quartile: Q1
Category: Earth and Planetary Sciences (miscellaneous)

Quartile: Q1
Category: Social Sciences (miscellaneous)

Emergency Medicine Australasia

2017 Journal Impact Factor: 1.353
Quartile: Q3
Rank: 14/26
Category: EMERGENCY MEDICINE

Quartile: Q1
Category: Emergency medicine

Quartile: Q2
Category: Medicine (miscellaneous)

Disaster Medicine and Public Health Preparedness 2017 Journal Impact Factor: 1.220
Quartile: Q4
Rank: 137/180
Category: PUBLIC, ENVIRONMENTAL & OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH

Quartile: Q3
Category: Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health

Disaster Prevention & Management

2017 Journal Impact Factor: 1.060
Quartile: Q4
Rank: 94/108
Category: ENVIRONMENTAL STUDIES

Quartile: Q4
Rank: 118/156
Category: PUBLIC, ENVIRONMENTAL & OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH

Quartile: Q3
Category: Public Health, Environmental and Occupational Health

Quartile: Q2
Category: Health (social science)

PLOS Currents

 

Quartile: Q2
Category: Medicine (miscellaneous)
PEER REVIEWED (REFEREED) JOURNALS

To see if a journal is peer reviewed, use Ulrichsweb database. Ulrichs can also be used to:

  • identify the journal coverage in a particular discipline
  • find out where an individual journal title is indexed

To learn more about peer review see the quick tutorial below.

Image link for peer review quick guide

WHAT IS GREY LITERATURE?

Grey literature is information which has been published informally or non-commercially, or remains unpublished. It can appear in many forms, including government reports, statistics, patents, conference papers and even non-written resources such as posters and infographics.

Grey literature is not usually peer-reviewed, but may still be good, reliable information.

See the Medicine: Grey Literature Library guide.

For further information see the PHCRIS Introduction to Accessing the Grey Literature which is aimed at medical researchers but are relevant to anyone searching for grey literature.

The University of South Australia has a comprehensive Grey Literature guide.
 

SOME GREY LITERATURE SOURCES

The following databases contain conference proceedings which are another form of grey literature.

READING AND NOTE-TAKING

Efficient reading and note taking skills are also essential when writing assignments.

To develop these skills, check out these resources

GUIDES TO SYSTEMATIC REVIEWS

 

A systematic review is a review of the evidence that uses transparent and systematic methods to define a research question, search for all relevant studies, and critically appraise and synthesise the findings. The explicit, systematic methods minimise bias and enable verification and reproducibility of the process of answering the question.

Monash guides:

Key resources:

Online module - systematic searching

EXAMPLE SYSTEMATIC REVIEW:

Pega, F., Liu, S. Y., Walter, S., & Lhachimi, S. K. (2015). Unconditional cash transfers for assistance in humanitarian disasters: effect on use of health services and health outcomes in low‐and middle‐income countries. The Cochrane Library.

GUIDES TO SCOPING REVIEWS

Scoping reviews may approach broader topics or research questions beyond those that investigate the effectiveness of a treatment/intervention. They are comparable to systematic reviews in terms of comprehensiveness and may take even longer to complete due to the large volume of results that can arise from a broader question.

Key readings:

EXAMPLE SCOPING REVIEW:

Challen, K., Lee, A. C., Booth, A., Gardois, P., Woods, H. B., & Goodacre, S. W. (2012). Where is the evidence for emergency planning: A scoping reviewBMC Public Health12(1), 1.

GUIDES TO INTEGRATIVE REVIEWS

Integrative reviews aim to add to or improve the understanding of particular issues in healthcare. They are focused but comprehensive and may include a combination of different methodological studies (such as experimental and non-experimental).

Key readings:

EXAMPLE INTEGRATIVE REVIEW:

Warsini, S., West, C., Ed, G. D., Res Meth, G. C., Mills, J., & Usher, K. (2014). The psychosocial impact of natural disasters among adult survivors: An integrative reviewIssues in Mental Health Nursing35(6), 420-436.

Typology of reviews
ENDNOTE SOFTWARE

Software for managing citations and associated files. Freely available for Monash University students and staff via an institutional subscription.

EndNote integrates with common word processors. (Windows and Mac versions available).

Loading ...