Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Monash Music and Multimedia Collection
Welcome to the Popular Voice Performance Library guide! This guide provides selected resources for students of Popular Voice.
Popular Voice Scores
Voices Found: Free Jazz and Singing by Voices Found: Free Jazz and Singing contributes to a wave of voice studies scholarship with the first book-length study of free jazz voice. It pieces together a history of free jazz voice that spans from sound poetry and scat in the 1950s to the more recent wave of free jazz choirs. The author traces the developments and offers a theory, derived from interviews with many of the most important singers in the history of free jazz voice, of how listeners have experienced and evaluated the often unconventional vocal sounds these vocalists employed. This theory explains that even audiences willing to enjoy harsh sounds from saxophones or guitars often resist when voices make sounds that audiences understand as not-human. Experimental poetry and scat were combined and transformed in free jazz spaces in the 1960s and 1970s by vocalists like Yoko Ono (in solo work and her work with Ornette Coleman and John Stevens), Jeanne Lee (in her solo work and her work with Archie Shepp and Gunter Hampel), Leon Thomas (in his solo work as well as his work with Pharoah Sanders and Carlos Santana), and Phil Minton and Maggie Nicols (who devoted much of their energy to creating unaccompanied free jazz vocal music). By studying free jazz voice we can learn important lessons about what we expect from the voice and what happens when those expectations are violated. This book doesn't only trace histories of free jazz voice, it makes an attempt to understand why this story hasn't been told before, with an impressive breadth of scope in terms of the artists covered, drawing on research from the US, Canada, Wales, Scotland, France, The Netherlands, and Japan.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2019
So You Want to Sing Jazz: A Guide for Professionals by Since the 1930s jazz has stood tall in American popular music, drawing into its embrace not only great horn players, percussionists, guitarists, bassists, and pianists, but also some of the greatest singers in America's musical history. Jazz has laid the groundwork for important innovations in modern singing, opening up entirely new ways of delivering songs through what would eventually become jazz standards--songs that formed the basis of the American Songbook. In So You Want to Sing Jazz, singer and professor of voice Jan Shapiro gives a guided tour through the art and science of the jazz vocal style. Throughout, Shapiro hones in on what makes jazz singing distinctive, suggesting along the way how other types of singers can make use of jazz. She looks at such key matters in jazz singing as the role of improvisation, the place of specific singers who influenced and even defined vocal jazz as we know it today, and the unique way in which jazz incorporates vibrato, conversational delivery, rhythmic phrasing, and melodic embellishment and improvisation. The book includes guest-authored chapters by singing voice researchers Dr. Scott McCoy and Dr. Wendy LeBorgne. In So You Want to Sing Jazz, singers and voice teachers finally have the go-to resource they need for singing vocal jazz. The So You Want to Sing series is produced in partnership with the National Association of Teachers of Singing. Like all books in the series, So You Want to Sing Jazz features online supplemental material on the NATS website. Please visit www.nats.org to access style-specific exercises, audio and video files, and additional resources.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016
The New Broadway Song Companion: An annotated guide to musical theatre literature by voice type and song style by Designed with the working actor in mind, the volume lists every song from over 300 Broadway shows, including at least 90 more than the first edition. Organized by show, each song is annotated with the name of the character(s) who sing(s) the song, the vocal range, and a style category, such as uptempo, narrative ballad, swing ballad, moderate character piece, etc. Several indexes are supplied, organizing the songs by voice type (soprano, baritone, etc.) and song style, vocal arrangement (duets, trios, chorus, etc.), and composer and lyricist, allowing increased access to the repertoire. For instance, a soprano looking for a ballad to sing will find every song in that category in the index. All solos, duets, and trios are indexed in this manner, with quartets and larger ensembles listed by voice type. Furthermore, the instant breakdowns (how many lead characters, who sings what song, and the range requirements of each character) will be a valuable resource to directors and producers.
Call Number: Ebook
Publication Date: 2009
Learning from books on technique can be part of study plans, learning journals, reflective practice and writing.
Finding Popular Voice Resources
DVDs, CD's, Scores and other music items for Popular Voice are located on Level 1 of the Matheson Library, and can be most easily found by using Monash Library Search to find a Call Number.
Online Resources at Monash University Library
Go to E-Journals to find articles which you may be able to use in your reflective writing
Voice and Speech Review contains a number of ejournal articles on the Estill Voice Method and by authors such as Ingo Titze.
'Vocal Traditions: Estill Voice Training' by Kimberly Steinhauer and Mary Mcdonald Klimek, 2019.
'The Rational and and History of Vocology' by Ingo Titze, 2019.
Streamed video is available on Informit EduTV
For example: The Story of Popular Music
We have access to episodes 4-16-of this series directed by Tony Palmer. Each episode charts the history of American popular music using a different genre of music, from ragtime, rhythm 'n' blues, musical theatre, folk, swing, country and western, rock'n'roll and beyond. The series features rare interviews with the most significant musicians of the 20th century.
In the Frame
Episodes feature Lou Bennett, Gail Mabo, Shellie Morris, Casey Donovan, Last Kinection, Busby Marou, and Street Warriors.
Here is a link to an interesting thesis from the University's Research Repository. It follows a Practice-Led Research approach:
Learning Skills Advisers
Great Songwriting Techniques by In Great Songwriting Techniques, veteran composer and teacher Jack Perricone shares years of experience in the art, science, and pedagogy of songwriting to teach readers the craft. Whether they write for a small group of friends or in the hopes of creating a smash hit, aspiring songwriters canlearn how to focus on topics essential to their success in this competitive field; every songwriter must be aware of audience, thick-skinned enough to handle rejection and competition, and most importantly have the confidence to master the craft of composing and producing. Perricone teaches readersto accomplish this through a targeted series of lessons on key elements of songwriting from building blocks like melody, harmony, and rhythm to more advanced topics like lyric placement and tone texture.Chapters explore loop-based harmonic patterns, tone tendencies, form, function, and lyric writing, all in service of preparing the aspiring songwriter to be a master of prosody and keen in understanding the relationship between words and music. The volume includes examples of exceptional songwritingfrom well-known artists such as Irving Berlin, Prince, Bob Dylan, Stevie Wonder, Justin Timberlake, and Taylor Swift.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2018
Writing Better Lyrics by The Must-Have Guide for Songwriters Writing Better Lyrics has been a staple for songwriters for nearly two decades. The revised and updated 2nd Edition provides effective tools for everything from generating ideas, to understanding the form and function of a song, to fine-tuning lyrics. Perfect for new and experienced songwriters alike. The book covers the basics in addition to more advanced techniques. Songwriters will discover:
- How to use sense-bound imagery to enhance a song's emotional impact on listeners
-Techniques for avoiding clichés and creating imaginative metaphors and similes - Ways to use repetition as an asset
- How to successfully manipulate meter
- Instruction for matching lyrics with music - Ways to build on ideas and generate effective titles
- Advice for working with a co-writer
And much more
Featuring updated and expanded chapters, 50 fun songwriting exercises, and examples from more than 20 chart-toppings songs, Writing Better Lyrics gives you all of the professional and creative insight you need to write powerful lyrics and put your songs in the spotlight where they belong.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2010
Call Number: Online on order and Print at 782.4216413 C581S 2008
Acting in Musical Theatre by Acting in Musical Theatre remains the only complete course in approaching a role in a musical. It covers fundamental skills for novice actors, practical insights for professionals, and even tips to help veteran musical performers refine their craft. Updates in this expanded and revised second edition include: A brand new companion website for students and teachers, including Powerpoint lecture slides, sample syllabi, and checklists for projects and exercises. Learning outcomes for each chapter to guide teachers and students through the book's core ideas and lessons New style overviews for pop and jukebox musicals Extensive updated professional insights from field testing with students, young professionals, and industry showcases Full-colour production images, bringing each chapter to life Acting in Musical Theatre's chapters divide into easy-to-reference units, each containing group and solo exercises, making it the definitive textbook for students and practitioners alike.
Call Number: Online - on order Print at 792.6028 D312A
Publication Date: 2015-
Musical Theatre Song by Musical Theatre Song is a handbook for musical theatre performers, providing them with the wide-ranging skill set they need for success in today's competitive musical theatre environment. Breaking down the process into knowing how to select your song material based upon your individuality and how to prepare and perform it in a manner that best highlights your attributes, Stephen Purdy provides a succinct and personalized trajectory toward presentation, taking the reader through a series of challenges that is designed to evoke original, personal and vibrant song performances. Written by renowned Broadway and West End vocal and audition coach Stephen Purdy, Musical Theatre Song is a must-have guide for all performers who are looking to succeed in the musical theatre industry.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016
Practice-Led-Research and Research-Led-Practice