Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citing and writing guides
Using Music Periodicals Database (Proquest)
Essential indexes to music journals
Music periodicals database This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes over 1.3 million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
RILM abstracts of music literature RILM includes over 620,000 records; over 30,000 new records are added every year, covering all document types: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, electronic resources, reviews, and more.
Subject coverage: musicology and ethnomusicology, theory, analysis and composition, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, librarianship, pedagogy, liturgy, dance, aesthetics, criticism, music therapy, iconography, historical musicology.
JSTOR : the scholarly journal archive. Intended as a comprehensive archive of important scholarly journal literature, built by over 1,700 worldwide participants, including major Australian universities. Coverage includes: the arts, sciences, business, ecology and botany, language and literature, and music, extending from 17th century in some cases.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by All volumes available online along with the Grove Dictionary of Jazz. Use the bibliographies to take you to further sources: journal articles and books.. Since its initial publication in 1980, the Dictionary has been widely acclaimed as an indispensable resource and a classic reference. The word "updated" doesn't begin to describe the thousands of new articles, topics, cross-references, and areas of scholarship incorporated into The New GroveII. Every one of the first edition's 22,500 articles has been reviewed and revised, with thousands of articles expanded. Previously neglected or under-represented areas have been examined, explored, and explained. Movements and topics once deemed too controversial or too far from the mainstream have been added. And throughout, 6,500 new articles cover more than 5,000 years of music history, instruments, composers, institutions, performers, genres, and more. The New Grove II takes you beyond the customary and familiar into new worlds with extensive, authoritative contributions on non-Western music. From major influences, such as Latin American music, to less-examined contributions, such as Asian, sub-Saharan African, and Pacific Islander, The New GroveII presents the music, theory, instruments, and musicians that have helped to define music around the world.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2002-present. Use bibliographies to take you to further sources.
MGG Online by MGG Online contains the complete content of the second edition of MGG, published in 29 printed volumes between 1994 and 2008 under Editor-in-Chief Ludwig Finscher. It consists of more than 18,000 articles written by 3500 authors from 55 countries. Biographical articles cover more than 16,000 composers, singers and instrumentalists, and theorists. Many articles are about non-Western composers, performers, and writers, figures from jazz and popular music, philosophers and literary figures, as well as instrument makers, publishers, musicologists, writers, librettists, and visual artists. More than 1500 subject articles cover music aesthetics and theory, epochs and genres, church music and pop music, instruments and manuscripts as well as cities and countries. Comprehensive articles on institutions (including music libraries), music iconographical subjects, and music as it relates to history, art, literature, philosophy, law, the natural sciences, and more are included.MGG Online contains all of this content in a continuously updated and expanding database in which the data is revised, new information is added, and articles are rewritten.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2016 - Use the bibliographies to find further sources.
Cambridge Companions to Composers
Call numbers for music history
Call numbers for periods of music history to assist browsing
780.902 Music 500-1400
780.903 Renaissance 15th and 16th centuries
780.9032 Baroque early 18th century
780.9033 Classical late 18th century
780.9034 Romantic 19th century
780.904 Twentieth century
780.905 Twenty-first century
Music by Music: An Appreciation, Main Edition Music: An Appreciation is a unique text featuring a concise presentation of musical elements and history, carefully chosen musical selections and insightful listening guides. This new volume has been updated to include discussions of important musical elements and historical periods. Features: New discussions of Melody and Words and Song Forms in Part 1 Section 5 explains the complex connection between words and melody and how the two combine to create song forms Updates to the discussion Music and Musicians in Society Since 1900 in Part 7 Section 2 includes coverage from 1950 to the present A new section on Music in America is included in Part 7 Section 16 provides a brief overview of the American musical landscape and a context for discussion of representative American composers, including Amy Beach, Astor Piazzolla, Eric Whitacre and Yo-Yo Ma
Call Number: 781.17 K15M 2015
The Enjoyment of Music by Copies of the 10th ed. 2007 are shelved at 780 M149E 2007. The Eleventh Edition emphasizes context to show how music fits in the everyday lives of people throughout history, and connects culture, performance, and technology. The new edition includes more cultural and historical context, and in-text features that encourage and develop critical thinking skills.
Call Number: 780 F727E 2011