Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: ATS1346 2020

Selected resources for students of music

ATS1346 Music and Culture 2020

This page offers a selection of online sources relevant for the study of ATS1346 Music and Culture. There is a separate tab for books only available in print. If you are seeking a particular kind of resource, please contact your librarian or your learning skills adviser. You can also use our Zoom Drop in which is available, Monday to Friday 12pm to 5pm via ZOOM
The RLO (Research and Learning Online) site offers quick guides including a checklist for scholarly sources: Scholarly Sources Checklist

The Monash Academic Integrity page offers a set of modules to help you understand how to use sources in your writing: What is Academic Integrity

Journal articles are indexed by databases. Proquest which has a music specific database, Music periodicals database, and EBSCOhost which also has a number of music specific databases, including RILM Abstracts.  All databases related to Music are found in Databases and indexes on this guide.

Streamed Video
The following databases offer streamed video:
Kanopy
EduTV
ArtFilms Digital
For example: 
Raga revelry: a journey through North Indian classical music 


Streamed Sound

The following databases offer streamed recorded sound which you can search using keywords : hip-hop, raga, Australia, Iran, Indonesia and improvis*
Smithsonian World Music is a a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings. There are over 35,000 individual tracks of music which you can browse or search using controlled vocabularies or keywords to find musical instruments, geographic areas, cultural groups and genres..
undefined

Contemporary World Music contains streamed sound tracks and liner notes which offer different perspectives on your topics. You can search by Place or Genre and browse by performer or ensemble.
undefined


 

Sources for all regions from every continent

Online Encyclopedias

Online Encyclopedias

Many comprehensive encyclopedias contain articles accompanied by extensive bibliographies which provide further resources.  Try the entries for Australia, Improvisation, North India, Iran, Central Java or Indonesia in Oxford Music Online. The search interface allows you to search for keywords across the full text of all articles.