Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: ATS3828 Film music

Selected resources for students of music

ATS3828 Film Music

This page supplements the ATS3828 Film Music reading list and indicates relevant sources to acquire discipline knowledge and to find theory and literature to support your reasoning in your assessments. In addition to books and journal articles, you have access to databases for streamed sound tracks for films via Naxos and Classical Music Library as well as streamed video on EduTV and Kanopy. To find sources in Search enter the keywords related to your assessment tasks. The resources on this page are intended to support your assessment preparation, and all the books are available as ebooks. If you needs a particular kind of resource, please contact your librarian

Reviews of films often include writing about the film scores and there are also reviews on the film score or the soundtrack.
The following databases are useful tools to search for these reviews. Search using film titles, composers and keywords such as music, score and soundtrack.

Film & Television Literature Index - Covers literature on production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews from 1987 until the present.
Film Index International - Search by film title for a synopsis, a list of cast and credits more comprehensive than imbd.com and a list of awards. Reviews are found under the "related items" in the column on the left.
Film Literature Review -  Includes articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1976-2001
Newsbank Newspapers - Select All Text and enter the name of the composer or the title of the film.

The following books are collections of selected film reviews where some reviews may refer to the significance of the music.

Jerry Goldsmith

Naxos Music Library includes a number of Hans Zimmer original soundtrack recordings. For example Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice.
Alexander Street Press does not offer the actual soundtrack cuts, but they are performed by the same orchestra.
Film Music of Hans Zimmer - Vol.1
Film Music of Hans Zimmer - Vol.2

Journal articles are indexed by databases such as Proquest and JSTOR which are useful indexes for journal articles related to Film music. To see all databases related to Music go to Databases and indexes on this guide. To see all databases related to Film go to Film and Screen Studies.

Australian Journals
Two scholarly Australian film journals include often articles related to film music. Enter the names of the composer of the music, or search terms such as soundtrack or music or score along with the film title.

International Film Music Journals

Streamed Video

Informit's EduTV is a database containing a number of  feature films

Kanopy also contains feature fikms

undefined