Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music: ATS3829 East Asia and its Music

Selected resources for students of music

ATS3829 East Asia and its music: Silk road histories and popular contexts

 This page selects sources relevant for the study of musical, aesthetic, social and ritual practices as expressed in the musical life of the Chinese, Japanese, Korean and Mongolian cultures. Each tab includes mostly ebooks that are available online. If you are seeking a particular kind of resource, please contact your librarian or your learning skills adviser.

In addition to the books below, you will find print titles on Chinese music in the General Collection and in the Chinese language section of the Asian collection when browsing around the call number, 780.951. For help searching for Chinese language materials on Chinese databases try the Chinese Studies Library Guide.

In addition to the books below, you will find print titles on Korean music in the General Collection and in the Korean language section of the Asian collection when browsing around the call number, 780.952 and 781.62957 . For help searching for Korean language materials use the Korean Studies Library Guide.

In addition to the books below, you will find print titles on Japanese music in the General Collection and in the Japanese language section of the Asian collection when browsing around the call number, 780.952. For help searching for Japanese language materials try the Japanese Studies Library Guide.

Oxford Handbooks Online brings together the world's leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic. You can search simultaneously across all handbooks by keywords. Methodologies are discussed in the following selected chapters:

Sounds Humane: Music and Humanism in the Aga Khan Humanities Project

Oxford Bibliographies

Central Asia
 

Further streamed video
More videos can can be found on databases such as Kanopy and EduTV.

For example:

undefined